Visiting - The ancient city of Pompeii🌋

in Pinmapple11 months ago (edited)

Hey everyone 👋

Today I want to make a post on something I had done previously which had sat on my
Bucket List ever since I was a young kid...

During school times, I'm sure a lot of us will have heard of the City of Pompeii. ⚖️ 🇮🇹

The city which was destroyed by a ravishing volcano and wiped out thousands of people in a single day.

This is Mt. Vesuvius ^ from where I was staying, look at that absolute killer!!! 🌋

Not only did I visit Pompeii, but I also walked/climbed right to the top of Mount Vesuvius,
the volcano that caused this absolute catastrophe & looked right into the depths.

Now, this post could actually go on for DAYS, but like most of my posts I will try to keep it light & focus more so on pictures which I'd taken whilst I was there... 👍



Here is me using the many "cross walks" throughout the whole city. From the narrow streets, I'm going to guess they had certain rules in place as in people on the right walk one way & people on the left walk the other.

Also, it may have been used to keep yourself dry from the filth & rainwater that may have filled the streets as they would not have had the plumbing system we have today... #derp obviously who'd have guessed?




This is literally a "take away" OR "take out" as others may call it & YES, they existed back then! 🍕 AMAZING.



Original paint on the walls ^ 🎨🖌️



Original Art. I can't quite remember what this place was exactly but I'm going to presume from the flooring alone it was only a place used by people of a high standing. 👑



Original items & pottery all found amongst the rubble at Pompeii. A huge portion of the orignal items have been stolen by illegal art dealers & still work their way amongst the underground markets of today... 🍯⚒️⚖️



A storefront that still holds original drawings above it's door + Our fearless tour guide, a true Naplese lady. 🧎‍♀️🖼️



Yes, take a closer look... You guessed it, a "phallic symbol" which represents the "Red Light District"...
Most of you may know, but prostitution is one of the oldest professions in the world. This one being on the seedier side, but up towards the higher buildings they had baths which would have housed the "cleaner" and "higher standard" workers, per say... 👍

I have more photos, but I'm new to #HIVE & this platform so I'm unsure what's allowed and not so I will leave them out...
Lol



A picture I'd take just outside of their colosseum.
This is the pathway hundreds of spectators would have taken enroute to watch the days events... ⚔️🛡️



Just one of the many Amphitheater sites dotted throughout 🏟️


Please be aware of the next images...




Waves of ash & volcanic rock rained down on the city, burying the buildings and streets aswell as the people in a thick layer of volcanic debris that solidified and literally turned them to stone.
Most of the people they believe may have been old or ill or children, people who may have been unable to flee...


Now, the next pictures are taken from
Mount Vesuvius, but first a few images taken along the hike to the summit.
🚶🚶‍♀️






It is almost impossible to explain the feeling I had once I'd reached the summit, it's a feeling that will last with me forever.

The feeling of accomplishment, the feeling of
"I Exist" was overwhelming, and looking at the other people around I felt like they probably felt the same.

People hugging & smiling, taking forever pictures...

It was great. 🙂

If you ever get the chance to visit, go for it.
Life is worth living, don't wait until it's too late.

Thank you.





Sort:  

Amazing view💯 volcanic sculpture are just something else. Too unique and underrated. Love the share.

You should visit somewhere on your bucketlist!

Currently im trying to visiting St. Kilda Pier! That's on my bucket list.

Congratulations @xkasabian! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.
You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.
You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Yearly Authors Challenge Status
Feedback from the July Hive Power Up Day

This is an amazing article man, very informative and also funny, fair play to you, you're really getting the hang of the Hive Life.

Great photos, and such an interesting place. I'd love to go, but knowing my luck the volcano would blew again haha

!PIMP !LUV !PIZZA


You must be killin' it out here!
@killerwot just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @xkasabian.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Great post. Would love to visit here someday.

Hmmmm maybe.

Such kinds of places are really impressive! Knowing their history makes it an exceptional experience.

Your pictures are lovely and allow us to share your trip! Thanks for that!

Plenty of more to share over the next few weeks!

I hope to return to this place of Italy as soon as possible also because I have to visit several points of this region but surely there will be the possibility later

You should! I have been to Italy 3 times, it's great.

Top class post my friend. I've never been to Pompeii or Mount Vesuvius, but certainly on my list. I've been to Rome, Naples, Florence, Venice, Amalfi coast on various trips but still didn't get there. Some day... Your post gives a great insight so thanks for that.

Naples? You can see the Volcano from Naples! I've been to Rome too. I love the history. I really want to go-to Athens next to see all the buildings. Unreal.

And the Amalfi actually.