Kim's Quest #43: Kamp Aninipot and Capilay Spring Park of Siquijor

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

Kamp Aninipot - Campground in Siquijor, Siquijor

Hello Hiveians!

This is probably the second to the last part of my Siquijor series. The last part will be all about Lazi - the place where we stayed for five days when we were in Siquijor.

Capilay Spring Park of San Juan, Siquijor

If you'll ask me, I'll definitely go back to Siquijor because I haven't explored the towns of Maria and Larena. I wanted to try cliff jumping in Salagdoong Beach. Anyway, this part will be about the two places we visited - one is in the mountains and the other is near the sea, but both are worth the visit.

Before reading further, I suggest that you check out the first three parts and the prologue of this series. You can find the links below:





Siquijor is one hell of an interesting island. I was always fascinated by the diversity of worthwhile finds there. As they say, the allure of the island does not end with its white sand beaches and stunning waterfalls. There's so much to discover, may it be in the mountains or in the sea. The people of the island and their unique culture and practices made the island so much more than meets the eye.

This time, it will be about a picnic site and a camp ground. Both are worth a visit, one is just for day trips while the other is good for overnight stays.

Tales of Siquijor - Part IV
Kamp Aninipot and Capilay Spring Park


Let me start with the campground in the mountains. This one's harder to find, but with a local guide, I'm sure there won't be a problem.

Kamp Aninipot

Kamp Aninipot is the claimed to be the first campground in the island of Siquijor. It is located at the top of Tacdog Hills in the town of Siquijor, Siquijor. Overlooking Siquijor Bay, the campground offers a panoramic, serene, and beautiful view of Siquijor's coastline.

Just a little trivia, "Aninipot" is a Bisaya term for fireflies. As I've said in the previous parts of this series, Siquijor has a long and rich history that revolves around witchcraft and mysticism. Kamp Aninipot pays homage to the fireflies that were the cause of the island's moniker Isla del Fuego or The Island of Fire.

According to the stories, the island gained its moniker Isla del Fuego because in the past, the outsiders claimed that the entire island looked like it was on fire at night. That's because of the thousands of fireflies living in the island at that time. I was really astonished when I learned about this. This is one of the reasons why the island got its reputation. I can just imagine the reaction of any outsider who looked at the island enveloped by strange light.

That's the only logical explanation, unless there are other spooky and mystical reasons. There are still fireflies in the island, but their population is dwindling and we all know the reason for that.


I think Kamp Aninipot offers a minimalist approach to the idea of vacation and relaxation. Once you're there, it will be just you and the serene view of Siquijor. Activities like mountain biking and hiking are offered and unique accommodations like Hobbit houses and tree houses are available.

We went there at the middle of the day and we didn't have plans to stay long or stay for a night, so we just explored the area. I'm sure a lot of improvements were done in the last two years, so I won't be surprised that Kamp Aninipot will be the next top destination of Siquijor. As for me, I was satisfied with just a fresh mango shake and being lulled by the gentle breeze coming from the bay. It was so relaxing I nearly went to sleep. I missed it so much! I should definitely go back one day.

Speaking of fireflies, I think it's true that they're abundant in Siquijor because of the abundance of clean springs in the island. Fireflies don't thrive in polluted water. Which brings me to the second destination.

Map Coordinates: [//]:# (!pinmapple 9.206789 lat 123.527399 long d3scr)

Capilay Spring Park

Capilay Spring Park is located at the town center of San Juan, Siquijor. Yes, you read that right. Town centers and parks are usually doned with a statue of a prominent individual or a fountain, but San Juan has spring at its center. The park is built around the spring for both the residents and tourists alike.

With tall trees and kiosks, the natural spring pool is best for family picnic on a hot summer day. There's no entrance fee in the park, as most of public parks, so you can take a plunge into the pool to relieve from the heat of the sun.


The spring pool is divided into three parts or chambers. The first chamber is a deep one and where the spring source is located. The second chamber is the main pool where most of the tourists and residents take a swim. The third chamber is a laundry area across the street where the outflow of the spring passes in what they call as a "river" and discharges into the sea.


During late afternoons, residents love to stroll in the park along the spring pool as the gentle breeze sweep the trees. There's a grotto above the spring and that area was lined with trees that provides shade.

I'm sure there are stories told by their ancestors on how the spring came to be, but I'm done with stories for today. What I'm interested to share was that homemade ice cream shop across the street. Tating's Creamier Ice Cream is just beside the laundry pool. I think you should try it if it's still there when you visit Siquijor.

To be honest, I'm not a fan of ice cream. I know I'm weird because while my friends could gobble up one whole container, I can only manage up to five scoops and I'm done. There are exceptions though. Tating's Creamier Ice Cream is one of them. It's one of the creamiest I've ever tried. They told us their secret: fresh coconut cream instead of a normal cream. I couldn't believe I was able to finish two cones when I couldn't even finish one on other ice creams.

Stroll in the park while having your ice cream, plunge into the pool, or relax in one of the kiosks under the shade. Try those in Capilay Spring Park.

Map Coordinates: [//]:# (!pinmapple 9.159093 lat 123.493545 long d3scr)

Note: Some of the photos were taken by @legendarryll especially in the Capilay Spring Park. Also, this is my entry to Hive PH Top Philippine Vacation Spots challenge.

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines) and the rest of the world even if he's still a poor corporate slave with tons of bills to pay and two siblings to support in college.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

Sort:  

Shared to Twitter:

When did you go to Siquijor? You look like a little kid in your first image!!!!

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 14/21)

Two years ago. I'm still a little kid. Haha. I have to tell you a lot of change happened to me in just two years. Ssshhh. I was really skinny back then. They said I would be knocked out with just a gentle wind.

hahaha sorry makacoment ko aning dapita kay nakatwa kos little kid oi.hahaha

Hahaha! I'm still a little kid. My parents would not treat like I'm already 26. I felt like I'm the youngest in the family. Haha

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow these places look great! And the name lazi is easy to remember i will keep it in my mind 😋

Yeah! Lazi's easy to remember. And a great place to stay, too.

I've been to Siquijor three times already, as far as I can remember, and it never fails to amaze me. I haven't gone to Kamp Aninipot, will add that on my next trip in Siquijor. Soonest.

Wow! I'm amazed you have been there 3 times. Do you have a relative in the island or you'll just go there for travel?

I went there for travel. But, I have a relative in Siquijor because my grandfather (father side) is a Siquijodnon. But, he lives now in Zambo Sur. My mother told me that we went there when I was still a kid. I don't remember any of it so I only count those travel that I remember.

I still have places that I need to visit, too. My friend has a relative in Siquijor, his Uncle told us that we should try visiting Siquijor either April or May.

This travel was two years ago and it was during Holy Week. I think summer is really the best time to visit Siquijor. It has become so popular in the recent years. It's good to have an accommodation in the island because you can really save so much. Plus the homemade food.

Wow! I'm amazed you have been there 3 times. Do you have a relative in the island or you'll just go there for travel? I'll definitely go back there because there are still a lot of places to visit. I'm actually interested with the stories they have.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #923.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you @LivingUKTaiwan and @pinmapple team! Appreciate it. Always.

You're welcome @ybanezkim26👍😉

I would really like to re- visit Siquijor. There is just so much to do and see, even just to unwind. I will definitely try the Tating's Ice Cream next time. Coconut cream as the ice cream base is a great idea.

I was amazed that they used coconut cream instead. It worked. I really hope they're still on business. They said that they supply ice cream almost all throughout Siquijor. It's really that good.

I really hope they are still in business as well. Their ice cream could become a signature foodie of the island similar to Apo ni Lola Durian candies of Davao or the Good Shepherd's Ube Jam of Baguio. Sweet Cravings all of a sudden hehe

Yeah. I'm actually fascinated by the signature food in every city or province. I might feature them in the future. It's mostly delicacies, but some are borderline bizarre. No matter how bizarre, those signature food worked as a way to make the place known.

Yeah. You're right. I'm craving now. Sans Rival of Dumaguete or Calea's Pecan Pie of Bacolod. I missed having to spend most of my remaining pocket money on pasalubongs. And my family would just eat them in one day. 😁😂

Great idea! You are making me hungry lol

I guess it's time for an early lunch. Haha

Oh yes it is! Just having mine now 🙂

Awesome pics!

Ka Darryll na uban gurl. Haha

Every content that interests me is those old histories. I'm referring about that aninipot. Is it true the witchcraft kim and also have you seem fireflies there?

I believe in witchcraft because I have first accounts when we were still in Negros and Siquijor has really made its name. Maybe the art has lost in the recent years because those old people already died and no one will take over in the family.

We saw fireflies in Lazi, but they're not as many as claimed to envelop the whole island.

What we're those first accounts kuya? I was told that the present generations of those families moved to the mainland kasi nga with the bad reputation of Siquijor. I was told too that in reality, Filipinos who have those gifts are the present medicinal herbalists, soap makers, perfumemakers, organic foodies.. them incorporating medicinal traditions and herbs.
A lot of them are in Bayawan where the largest groups of Filipinos there do meditations, vegetarians, among others. Meron din nagawa ng coconut beer thru fermentation. Less than 30 days nagawa,juice pa lang.

When I was young, when people talk about Siquijor, there's this fear in their eyes. Even when I said I would visit Siquijor for the Holy Week, my mother was reluctant to allow me. I guess you know people call it "barang".

There was a dispute between two families in our barangay and the head of one family was gone for about three days. When he was back, the head of the other family died for an unknown reason. Stories perpetuated that the other head of the family went to Siquijor to employ help from an alleged mambabarang. There's no concrete evidence, but the whole barangay believed it that way.

I already told this in one of the comments, but we had a classmate whose father was from Siquijor. Their father died early and they were so poor. He said that sometimes they eat sweet potato for lunch. I asked them why not stay in their grandparents in Siquijor. They could have been taken care there, but they didn't want it. They said they would rather eat sweet potato than be in Siquijor because they saw dried coconut leaves walking in the middle at night. I found it so funny that I laughed it off, but I saw they were serious and they're really afraid.

My late grandfather was a healer and I helped him create his ointments one Holy Week when we visited him and he told me a lot of stories about those stuff. I grew up to become more modern in thinking, but I still believe in things that could not be explained by science.

Dr. Concepcion Aljas, my friend's grandmother and our host during our stay in Siquijor has published 3 books about Siquijor. She listed the number of "healers" and "witches" in the whole island during the 1990s.

Siquijor has a bad reputation back then but it has changed. They were able to create a concrete plan to reverse its image. It worked. Dr. Aljas was one of the consultants in the tourism project in 1991. They were able to capitalise their tradition and practices to entice people to visit the island.

Does camp aninipot have a shower for those who stays? Did you see any toilets?
Salagdoong beach is pretty and very much a picnic destination for a day but I won't call it a "cliff" where they do the jumps. It's stone outcrop by the shore. It's a must when in there but di syado mataas. Pero OK na sya. Pola ang mga tao. We didn't try it as we only have a beer doon.

Yes. When we were there, they had some foreigner guests who stayed overnight. They have the amenities.

Salagdoong Beach was included in our original itinerary, but we got lazy and didn't feel like going to the beach so we ditched it. I'll definitely be back.

Travel and help the economy.. kawawa un mga walang kita.
We didn't stay long coz we rented lang un tricycle for a day. Maganda ang Salagdoong, we've seen families nagpipicnic. Meron floating small cottages in the distance if feel nyo un, meron resto na affordable naman. Magsawa kayo sa kakajump but syempre me pila.
I kinda like un Road in going there as tall trees cover the road. Maganda ang dating.

Yes. Pero I'm amazed wala talaga silang case ng covid. Maganda talaga ang Siquijor. Environmentally aware sila at sustainable ang kanilang tourism industry.

Covids are only in those known places like capital cities and other big cities... to be in the news. It's one way of manipulating stats.