Philippine Islands #8: The Instagrammable Bulog Dos Island

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I have been so skewed to my main goal and that is to document my first travel to Palawan. I've been back from my second visit to that majestic place two weeks ago and even back from climbing the highest mountain in the Philippines a week ago. Still, I am nowhere near completing the documentation of my first visit. I think this is my attempt of going back to that main goal. At the end of the day, if this still fails, I guess this is me saying "at least I've tried".

I've been to a lot of the most awesome islands in the Philippines and I can say that the group in Palawan is now on top of my list. In my last post about my trip there, I left you with Kayangan and Barracuda Lakes, and I promised to lump all the beaches we visited on the second day. As it turned out, I don't have any decent photos of the beaches. Maybe because I was tired of taking pictures or I don't know, maybe I just didn't take any pictures at all because I am lazy. Since I have not been following the entries in this series in chronological order, I decided to set that aside and share something that I wanted to share all along. Here we go:

The reason why I wanted to share this ahead even if we visited this on the third day of our Coron tour is that the island is so instagrammable, at least for me. The moment our boat docked at the white beach of the island, I never stopped taking photos. The place has so much character in it even if you can't see it on the map. It's just separated by a sand bar from Bulalacao Island where Two Seasons Coron Island Resort is located. In case you're wondering, Two Seasons Coron Island Resort is a top-rated resort in Coron where celebrities and affluent guests usually stay.

I'm one of those who don't usually believe in photos that are circulating on social media. I can also sense those photos that belong to the category of "expectations vs. reality". That's why I always manage my expectations whenever I visit new places. But not Bulog Dos Island. My jaw dropped the moment we docked at the white beach of the island after two hours of boat ride crossing Coron Bay.

This is the white sand beach located at the west side of the island. This is where boats usually dock. I don't know what happened to my lens so the photo didn't really do justice. I really suggest you visit the island.

I never stopped taking photos the moment we arrived at the island. Our guide said that we would be staying longer because we would be having our lunch there, so we took advantage of it and separated from the rest of the group.

For me, the island has so much character that even the trees and plants there never escaped the lens of my camera. The twisted twigs and branches without leaves were a feast to my eyes.

The weather was perfect! It felt like the island never received any rain for a while that it felt like it was barren and yet it was so vibrant to me. We immediately went to the other side of the island where tourists usually stay away. The usual people would immediately go to the sand bar and have fun there. We tried to explore the whole island.


I was really drawn by the aesthetic of these trees. They're devoid of leaves, but they're so alive. This is located on the east side of the island. Tourists usually don't go there so we had the whole area for ourselves.


On the east side is Coron Bay and the southern tip of Coron Island. Part of Bulalacao Island can also be seen from that part of Bulog Dos. I could stay longer in that part of the island, but we had to move to a different location. We wanted to explore the northern part of the island, but there was no access from the east side, so we went back to the white sand beach where our boat was docked. We walked the west side of the island where most of the white sand beaches are located.


We continued walking until we reached the end of the white sand beach and the start of a rocky area where the nearby island of Cauayan (or at least I believe to be based on the information I gathered from Google Maps) can be seen.


I believe this is Cauayan Island. It's just separated from Bulog Dos Island by a shallow sea and a shifting sand bar.

At the northern tip of Bulog Dos Island, we climbed a rocky hill that has a vantage view of the neighbouring islands of Malcapuya, Coron, Bulalacao, Banana, and some islets I failed to recognize.


After the heat of the sun became unbearable, we went back to the white sand beach and decided to explore the southern tip of the island and the sand bar facing Two Seasons Coron Island Resort.

This is where most of the tourists would flock and take photos:

The structures on the nearby island is part of Two Seasons Coron Island Resort. The island on the right is Banana Island which is also a top-rated destination, but I have no idea which resort is on that island.


I still have a lot of photos to share, but maybe they will be in a different post together with the photos taken from my phone. If I won't get lazy, I'll share them sooner. For now, let me share at least one photo of me.

I guess that's all for this post! See you at the next one! Maybe I'll share the Twin Lagoon experience after this. Let's see. If you're interested with the other posts from this Coron tour, you can find the links below:






Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines). He's also a trying hard photographer so stay tuned as he shares his photos and his thought process while creating them.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

Sort:  

oh wow this looks absolutely amazing. I once had a flight to the Philippines but had to cancel it. I regret it until today and now even more. So beautiful.

Time to book again, I guess? 😄 That's me promoting my country. 🙈

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow… what a place @ybanezkim26
The views… the white beach and turquoise waters. Stunning. A place to dream away…
Thanks for sharing. It doesn’t matter when, just do 😁🤣😉 hahaha

Yes! One of the best places I've been. Those photos didn't even do justice to the place. It's best to visit the island.

I'll eventually share. It might take longer though.

Yep, well…. I have to go one day I think and visit ☺️😇😎 hahaha

Yeah!!! All fine 😁 have an awesome Tuesday 👋🏻☀️

Please. Just once could you please do a shit post, prove you're human!

This looks beautiful, Palawan is possibly the most incredible place I ever visited but now a long time ago! Your islands knock spots off nearly all the islands we have in Thailand, but then again, you have a few thousand more to choose from!

Best wishes young man, have a wonderful week ;-)

😂😂😂 I do shitpost once in a while. It's just hard to distinguish.

I guess Conde Nast Traveller's Magazine is right in its ranking. The Philippines never missed the top spots of the best islands in the world.

Have a great week to you too!

Man, these are incredible pictures. Travel catalogue stuff. Putting Palawan on the top of my travel list right now! :D

Thanks, @phortun! I'm humbled by the travel catalogue stuff when I'm so messy with my photography. I guess the island is just so beautiful you couldn't mess up.

You won't regret putting Palawan on top of your travel list. I never regretted one moment while I was there. I even went back after two months!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1579.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Yay! Thanks, Liz!

The beautiful beaches of the Philippines never fails to amaze me. !PIZZA

True! So many beautiful beaches its hard to rank them all. But Boracay is still the best.

Yes, Boracay for the win! haha. 😁

I love the infinity of the crystal blue water! We don't have such a clear colour for the water in Romania and that's the main thing that always captures my attention while checking your posts out ❤️

Yasss! It's one of the best assets of the Philippines. There are plenty of choices all around the archipelago. Some are just getting attention recently. Glad to have captured your attention! 😄

The Philippines look like a little piece of paradise in each of these pictures. Thanks for this :-)

This I'm proud of. I'm happy I'm able promote my country.

sa lain ata ni sya na tour noh wala mi kaanhi hehe nice photos! nice ang trees...

Calamian Islands Travel and Tours mi Ma'am Jean. Basin exclusive sa ila ang island.

ahh basin no

It's just separated by a sand bar from Bulalacao Island where Two Seasons Coron Island Resort is located. In case you're wondering, Two Seasons Coron Island Resort is a top-rated resort in Coron where celebrities and affluent guests usually stay.

One day, I will be able to visit this resort and stay there for a couple of nights!

Manifesting!

Samedt! Manifesting! Kay nice daw jud ang resort.

Story time. Ddto ko ng.OJT sa ilanhang Boracay branch pg.college. G.offeran ko nla work sa Palawan before but it was too far and isolated so I said no. Hahahaha. Karon nahan na ko mu.adto. Ahahhahaha

Oh! Isolated bitaw jud sha. Pero nice jud kaayo ang place.

Puhon2. We will be there.

Palawan is indeed a paradise. You had wonderful travel quest.

Yeah! Awesome jud ang Palawan. Hopefully makaadto mi Balabac Island. Trending karon sa social media.

Woow! This is an amazing beach and an incredible post!! It's beautiful how you organized it!!

Thanks! I had fun making this post. Took me a few days though.

Wow!!!!! Very beautiful

white beaches look amazing. Trees are very interesting. It's like straight out of a fantastic movie. If I were anywhere near, I would like to see those trees often. thanks for sharing.

Congratulations @ybanezkim26! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 5500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 6000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar
Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow! I'm saving this one and will check the other Palawan blogs, too. The water looks so inviting. I wouldn't mind getting roasted if this kind of water and white sand welcome me. My boyfriend and some of our friends are planning to go to Palawan this September. Hopefully, dili siya drawing for the second time. Haha

Manifesting for you! ✨

Ituloy nyo na yan para bongga!

Oh wow this looks divine! I went to the Philippines many years ago when I used to work on cruise ships. But unfortunately did not get to visit this incredible Island.

That water and the white sane, similar colours to Isla Mujeres I wrote about it here:
https://peakd.com/yoga/@lisamariesworld/the-island-of-the-ladies

Thank you for sharing this beauty.

untitled.gif

I had the most awesome experience so far in Palawan. Definitely worth to visit.