You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open-Air Museum of Ukrainian Culture in Svidník

in Worldmappin • 9 months ago

Awww, those houses are so sweet! 💛💛💛💛 I like everything! And can't wait to show you around a similar museum here! You would like it! And there's a lot of shadow there ))

I don't remember the name of the plant, but my aunt mentioned that they used to suck the nectar out of its flowers as kids.

I did it too )))

The second room was used for fabrics production. The family used to make carpets as well, you can see one of them on the left side.

In my childhood, the neighbor of my grandmother used to make carpets on the same machine. She allowed me to help her a few times - I was so excited and happy!

Most of the clay cottages are blue. I tried to look for some information about it, but I didn't find anything. I wonder if it was in fashion at that time.

I remember most houses were blue too. Maybe it was the most obtainable and inexpensive dye.

The house was decorated with geraniums which were common at that time. Some people still grow them, but not as much as in the past.

My mother and mother-in-law :D :D But not me.

A miller's homestead and no mill?

This was a typical classroom with benches and kids sitting next to each other...

OMG, I remember I was sitting at the desk like this during my first school year...

What a nice tour. Thank you!

Sort:  

I'm sure that you have similar museums as this one is showing Ukrainian culture in Slovakia 🙂 Can't wait to see it!

My grandma tried to teach me, but my interests were always somewhere else. I'm not so handy..

Whatever it was, those houses look cute in blue 🙂

There was a small mill wheel. You can see it in one of the pictures, it's just hidden a bit...

We had another classrooms when I went to school, but cool to hear that you still experienced those long tables and benches 🙂

Thank you for stopping by and see you in two weeks! 😘

Can't wait! 😘