You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Climbing in the Quarry

in Climbinglast year

Nice! I've been to Silvermine many times as well as other places like the Mine, the Hole, Skoorsteenkop and Peers Cave, but I think I've only been to the Quarry once and can barely remember it. Yeah the granite is very different to sandstone - much smaller holds... so more balance and awkwardness than overhanging slopes to get the same difficulty grade!

Sort:  

I’m so keen to go back. My folks live in orangezicht so we are in the area often. I just need to remember to pack in the gear. I o my did and 14 and 16 so next up will be the 17 and 18.

I’ll leave the Mine to my son. Way above my grade.

The wind often sends moist air into the Mine, making it slippery! Also, the routes can be long which is terrible if you're slightly scared of heights and aren't great at resting and shaking out the pump in your forearms! Hahaha!

Yup! Not my cup of tea.

I assume your son can lead anything I might ever want to try if I join you one day! Hahaha! My baby daughter seems to be taking after my father who was the famous climber in the family - the genes skipped by me!

😂 Yes he’s currently climbing 26s indoors and 23-24 outdoors. And he only started climbing in January!!! He’s a natural. I’m lagging behind him and quite happy not to risk my life trying hard stuff. #belaybuddy