I became a dishwasher in a food canteen for lost my money

in Comedy Open Mic7 months ago

Hungry is not a good thing, being hungry can destabilize someone and make that person not to think straight. I remember the day I don't have a food to filled my stomach. That day a lot of weird things that I don't have expected happens to me, I walked from my junction to the next junction without having anything particular destination. I was just strolling up and down like a beger on the street all because I think if I walk a little bit maybe I can see someone that knows me and will be willing to dash me money to eat.

source

However, towards the evening time, I received a call from my mother and I told him what I was going through, immediately she sent me money so I will be able to buy food to eat that night and she promised she is going to send the one that will be enough for me the following day. With mischievous grins I withdraw the money sent to me by my mother and I went straight to a canteen because if I stay another minute without not eating maybe I will collapse and people will think something else has happened to me.
I went straight to the canteen because my stomach is already making some sound that are growly loudly. I ordered a food but not knowing my money is not right in my pocket. However after rushing my food because I was so much hungry, the seller ask me to pay and as I reaches my pocket I realizes my money is missing. Panic sets in, and I frantically start searching my pockets, but it's nowhere to be found.

I was like
No, no, no! Where did I put it?

The CANTEEN SELLER, make some kind look and taps her fingers impatiently on the counter while shaking her head.

She raised her eyebrow and asks me what are you looking for. (nervously)
I replied, ma'am, it seem I have misplaced my money. I don't have any money to pay for the food.

She was annoyed and don't believe me, she thought I just came to eat freely and decided to trick her. However, she give me alternative that if I can't pay I have to work with the for the day, means I have to wash the plate off my meal.

My eyes widen with a mix of frustration and worry, because why will this woman didn't believe me and asks me to wash plate for the whole day because of just one plate of rice I ate that I was not even okay with the food.

I have no other option than to accept and wash the plate. But what please me off is how the seller use me the whole day just because I couldn't pay for just the little food I ate. I wash all the plate that other customers use to eat, I stands in front of a towering stack of dirty plates for more than 2 hours the more I keep washing the money they bring more dirty plate.

They gave me a apron to wear that make me look like a person that already found a new job. Well, that day I had my lunch in a unique way and since then I always make sure I hold my money at hand before order a food.


Thanks for Reading,
Best regards @adeyemi12

Sort:  

Next time you have to check your pocket properly before you buy any food. It's the price you have to pay. Can I call you waiter?... Hehehehehe

Atleast that serve as lesson for me