Keep lies away, no one pay for pride

in Comedy Open Mic8 months ago (edited)

I don't think it's a most to lied about what you don't know about. I always imagine how some people do that just to get recognition or to get level in people's presence, but all of these are sort of rubbish that can leads people to grave.

Lieing is not good character, if you're one of those that lied please read this little story and try to change that character.


When I was still in school three years ago, the department of computer engineering were busy preparing for our awaiting departmental anniversary. Everyone was appointed to a role and have each responsibilities.

I am the sport director of my department, I have my role too, the social director have plenty role to carried out because it was social gathering. Everyone was just busy with different task including the departmental president.

However, on that day of the anniversary I came to the ground late because I have already played my role a day before. I meet Mr president asking everyone who knows how to drive a manual car, as a street boy and where I come from we used cars especially manual for rice smuggling

A guy among the students claims he knows how to drive, Akeem boldly proclaimed, "Hey, guys! I'm an expert at driving a manual car. Piece of cake! I can handle it like a professional racer. Everyone burst into laughter and believe him despite not see him driving before, but they believe the way he talked boldly.

Although Mr president also knows how to drive but not a manual car and he's not bold enough. The car volunteer by one of the department lecturer to transport drinks to the ground is manual car

Akeem the students who knows how to drive collected the key ready to do the task, but on his way going to the car park I decided to reveal my own hidden talents. I rushed to the scene, shouting, "Wait, wait! I knows how to drive a manual car too!"

We were now two proclaimed experts, Mr president couldn't decide who should take the key anymore. He asked, "Adeyemi you knows how to drive too? And I had been desperately searching for someone who could drive a manual car to leas and bring the drinks.

So, he came up with a brilliant idea – I should follow Akeem, honestly I don't know why he asked me to follow him when he just need one person to drive a car, but I thought Akeem will need help while packing the drinks.

I don't refuse, infact it pleased me because I don't want to be thrust into the spotlight.

As we get to the car and the engines start roared to life, I noticed from Akeem face that he had exaggerated his driving skills. His attempts at shifting gears were clumsy, and the car jerked forward like a rodeo bull.

I do not doubt him, I've been in his shoes a time like that I want to drive someone's car but don't notice the reverse gear is near to G4 and if you don't put it normal there is probability you'll put reverse instead of G4. My thoughts thou 🤔

He get putting the gear to reverse and we move out, but before we drive to a tile road I already noticed his hand is shaking not straight like someone who have drove before. In my mind I said 🤔 Hope I will not die today😂😂

Immediately we enter the tile road, his hand started shaking fast and I noticed he pressed the acceleration and the clutch together. The two combination giving the car a sound and some smell from the leather clutch.

image source

I shouted stop stop!!, he stopped the car and I asked him to come down so I will take over the steering. He made one statement, "Ahhh it been awhile I drove a car that is the reason."

I say it in my mind 'Bro why are you lieing'. I know people like that. Just because they always seat beside a driver watching how they use clutch and the gear they thought they already knows how to drive😂😂

I drove the car to where we'll pack the drinks and drove it back to the department without any sign of learned, infact I remember the school security salute me at the gate.

I don't even bother to tell anyone at the department or joke on how Akeem is a bad driver. I just give him sound warning not to lie again because it can eventually lead to death if I was not ask to follow him.

It a lesson to everyone, always admit what you don't know how to do. Don't lied because you want people to believe you or know you do, no one pay for pride.


Thanks for Reading

Best regards @Adeyemi12

Sort:  

You Crack Us Up!

This Post Was Manually Curated by the FUN Curation Team.
Help reward #fun content creators by joining our curation trail on Hive.Vote.
Or Delegate Hive to @lolz.curate and earn LOLZ farming rewards.

Click to delegate 10, 25, 50, 100, or 1000 HP with HiveSigner.

In my mind I said Hope I will not die today

No there, you would have died if you had also lied but thank goodness your hands wasn't shaking like Akeem we would have been preparing burial rice right now😂😂😂

Hahaha 🤣🤣🤣🤣 my friend you're not joking at all.... Well I thank God use me to cover his lies and that is why you don't have to brag for what you can not do, nobody will pay for pride.

This is so awesome friend, you were the savior that save Akeem and also the departmental anniversary, the event wouldn't have been so fun again if something happens to the drinks, and you are a good person either for keeping Akeem's secrets just to your self, yet what was he even thinking when he proclaimed he can drive manual car, maybe he wants people to see him as an intelligent student, while he is putting himself in a hot mess.

There are some story's that lives long, and friend, I find this awesome piece of yours, as one that is going to live on and on and it will continue to be a lesson to everyone who read to the end.
Thanks for sharing.

It good to learn from experience... Honestly I don't know what the guy thinks, maybe he think because he always see drivers using gear and clutch he thinks is that easy... Some people they will never put something into practice before they conclude they knows how to do it. Well God use me to save the day, what if I closed my mouth that day😂

God saved Akeem because you followed him that day. It could have been worse. How could someone lie about being an expert in driving? That's such an expensive joke which could claim life.

Honestly if you're in the car that day you'll get shocked and there is no how you'll not scream. But God is wonderful that speak through my mouth that I also know how to drive

Congratulations @adeyemi12! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

This is pure truth and a piece of advice. Am glad you saved both your life and that of other people

Indeed we don't have to lie just to get recognition.

Thanks for stopping by friend

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @adeyemi12.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more