Lost in the Creative Traffic: Chronicles of Productivity Room

in Comedy Open Mic • 5 months ago

Now , when I have taken not just one but five deep breaths 😃 I have opened the editor to write something. As I have already written SOMETHING I am contemplating on what should I be writing. 🤣. Lolz. There is a quick answer: ANYTHING.

Well, over my blogging journey I have realized writing something is far easier than writing anything. For instance, if there is a precise topic on which we are supposed to write, it is easier to attain the focus and produce something.

On the other hand, confronting with the freedom to write Anything is akin to receiving the key of a vast candy store, brimming with an array of tempting choices within a specified timeframe. As I enter the store, I figure out that almost all the treats are equally appealing. Picking one of them is as challenging as picking a favorite child.

Instead of decisively choosing one, the sheer abundance overwhelms me, leaving me entangled in the perplexity of which delectable delight to select.

As the clock ticks away, the weight of indecision prevails, and alas, the time elapses, leaving me empty handed in the confectionery of creative possibilities.

I am sure we all have encountered the term “Writer’s Block” and would have come across it at some spot of our lives. Well I don’t remember if I have ever met the writer’s block. Nevertheless, I keep on encountering its slier and quirkier cousin. I think it doesn’t like to meet many people that’s why it is still nameless. However, it doesn’t seem to leave me for too long I had to give it a name. I have named it “Creative Paralysis".

While mischievousness of writer’s block is limited to close the door for new ideas just like a girl friend who breaks up and shuts the door instantly, Creative Paralysis is like a conniving friend who appears to be the most trustworthy person but harms in a subtle and long-lasting way.

Creative Paralysis opts for an innovative path for blocking productivity. It brings several ideas together and tells them, “If any of you failed to pass the door of productivity at once, you would never be able to cross it.”

On the other hand, it instills the fear in the Productivity Room convincing it that missing any of the idea would lead to a great loss. With the fear of losing them, the poor Productivity Room (PR) allows every idea to slide in at once. Consequently they all stuck at the door. What a wahala! The Productivity Room remains empty.

Blame it on greed, perhaps? If only the Productivity Room could be content with a few ideas at a time, we wouldn’t be stuck in this creative traffic mess. But no, it hungers for more, and now the door is blocked, achieving nothing but frustration.

Creative Paralysis doesn’t stop its wickedness here. It feeds each individual idea with a feeling being a VIP in the party. It urges each of them to make a noise, “Pick me. No Pick me…..” and let the PR know how important it is.

Grappled with creative conundrum, PR is at the verge of giving up. It makes a last attempt to fill it. It tries to pull some ideas in so the party may be successful. Nevertheless, a greater chaos is awaiting.

Whenever the Productivity Room grabs the hand of one idea, the other shouts, “Don’t you love me. Will you leave me outside.” . PR tries to pull the other one in, another shouts….

At this point all the ideas become taunting like snarky relatives who jeer you by saying, “Oh, I see how important I am to you. Haaaah! Uncle over there is clearly the favourite. ” Meanwhile, the uncle has similar kind of maddening words to throw your way.

And then, it happens……

The Productivity Room, in a fit of frustration, slams its door shut bellowing, “GET OUT Y'ALL.”

Loz. The PR forgets that they were already OUT. 🤣

Gif source

Gif source

Sort:  

Lol, this is a funny way to describe creative paralysis and how we suffer from it when it visits. Having an analytic mind does help at all, I'll try to have a great idea out of a bunch of good ideas. Despite thorough inspection of each, it just never works out and I end up dismissing all of the ideas. Which brings me back to square one!

Despite thorough inspection of each, it just never works out and I end up dismissing all of the ideas. Which brings me back to square one!

Oh,so you also suffer from this condition. Do you succeed to overcome it? What's the strategy?

Sometimes, I do. It's basically just picking one and going with it with a disregard for how others might be better. I think it works better when will is involved, as in I will pick this one and that's it!

You are right. Setting the preference is helpful. Thanks for stopping by

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @amberkashif.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes & Grindan

Congratulations @amberkashif! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 9000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!