A lady picked the call

in Comedy Open Mic4 months ago


Image source

The very thing most parents love about their children is the happiness they give them. What really is the essence of having kids if you cannot sit back and reflect on their past as they grow up and catch some fun from the childish behaviour they exhibited while they were growing. If we would all be truthful, we have one or two stories to tell pertaining to our childhood stupidity "permit me to use that word"

My dad was a disciplinarian that laid an example that till today remain in my head, and seriously, I built on it and made adjustments as the case may be to blend with the orientation I gathered from the learnings around

Can anyone remember the period when we used to go to phone boot to make calls @#20 per min? That was when mobile phone got to Nigeria. Things were easy then. You don't need to own a phone before you can communicate with anyone you want. With #20 naira, you are good to go

My mum on this unforgettable day gave me #20 to go and call my dad at the phone boot, and ask him what he would like for dinner. When I dialled his number, a lady picked it up the first time, and I hung the call. I tried again, and it was the same lady. When I heard the same voice the third time, I dropped the phone, and left. When I got home, mum asked about the errand

"What did your dad say"? She asked.

He didn't talk to me mum. It was a lady that picked it.
p>

My parents taught me the importance of always saying the truth, so I couldn't lie to my mum

My mum began to soliloquies. I noticed her uneasiness and asked her what was going on. She said "your dad is in trouble today. So he has been cheating on me"
?

I was seated motionless listening to her, and the door opened. It was my dad

Dear, what's the matter? I heard your voice downstairs, hope all is well, or has he (referring to me) done anything this time
?

My mum responded : So you have been cheating on me all this while. With all the love I showed you this man. Ha! Aye mi my life. I no go gree o. You must tell me the truth today. What have I done to deserve this from you. Haaaa, yeeeh, oooo, yuuuuuu. She continued displaying. You know the face me I face you settings. Before we could say Jack, the neighbors had filled our one room apartment. Iya ibeji, take it easy nah. Daddy Ibeji, why would you do this to your wife? We all know that she's very nice and lovely, so why
?

I was there regretting why I told my mum that it was a lady that picked my dad's call. But then, it was the truth after all. Now it was my dad's turn to talk. He said "no lady picked my call, and infact I've been busy since, and my phone has not been reachable

I was disappointed with dad. "Dad, you taught me never to tell lies irrespective of the circumstances, but see you now, you are lying". I was the one that called your number and a lady picked up. Then my dad asked, what did she say? Then I responded. She said

The number you're trying to call is currently switched off, please try again later, thank you"

When I relate the info, the room cleared. Our neighbors left, shaking their head as if I was saying trash. My mum apologized to my dad, and I became surprised. I didn't understand what was going on. Later, my parents laughed and explained to me that it was a bot that talked to me. What is a bot I asked? Then he explained

A bot is a program written to perform tasks repeatedly by imitating human behaviour

Now I understand. So it wasn't my fault. This is web3. AI is taking over gradually. Hope you giggled while reading. That's the intention

Thanks for reading
This is ckole the laughing gas
One love

Sort:  

It was really a funny scenario that you don't know what and how to explain the situation when your been accused for such.

Yes, it was. But the coast was cleared at last. Funny acts from kids all the time.. 😀

After causing all that drama, all for both.
As a good kid, why didn't you ask the lady who she wasn't why she was with your dad's phone. That's kids life😂

My brain didn't go there. I only expected to hear his voice, and since the voice I heard wasn't his, I skipped. 😂

Congratulations @ckole! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 2750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Congratulations @ckole! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 6 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

It's the Christmas season: give your friends a gift