Against All Odds

in Comedy Open Miclast year

CDC

Against All Odds

I remember back in the days when I was still in secondary school. My teachers used to say something that keeps us moving. They always give us hope. The hope of making it in life, the hope of being somebody people would reckon with. The hope of being a millionaire and hope of going beyond your mates in school.

To be sincere, we were all serious just because we want to make it in life. If you asked a student, he or she would say a lawyer or medical doctor is his or her choice. No one would mention becoming a teacher, including myself. Ask me what I'm doing today. Hahahaha….

I kept on working so hard to make headway out of my life even though I was not from a good home. Going by the series of examples my teachers had given to us all, I was working so hard to make my way out. At a time after much studying, I lost count and lost hope in my dream. I never dreamt of becoming an accountant nor have I dreamt of becoming a doctor, or teacher, but with mathematics by my side, I must lose count. No one in my set had ever loved mathematics. We all loved other subjects other than mathematics just because of the toughness behind them. We were all running away from mathematics just because of the nature of our mathematics teacher. He was not helping issues. He was so wicked. Are they still the same today or have they changed?

After I was out of secondary school, I later saw mathematics as an interesting subject and a subject one must always come to like. This was because of the deep study I had.

I began to find daily bread. This was when I remembered the words of my teachers "education is the road to greatness. No education, no wealth". I want to ask everyone here, is this statement true?

Oldboy, life is not easy. I kept on struggling to survive and yet nothing was coming forth. I also saw some of my mates who we finished secondary school with struggling to survive. I later got a different mind and thought about what my teacher said about making it in life.

To be sincere, I struggled to elevate, but the downside castrated my thoughts. This was when I got to know that making it is not an easy task.

Now, can I say going to school was and is by mistake? I guess yes as well as no.

These days I began to see so many young boys making it in life even with their illiterate life.

What I was not ready to become is what I ended up doing. My dream of becoming an engineer was shattered by teaching. Well, it is well. I'm enjoying it and love it so much.

The students I'm teaching are of different knowledge. Some are dull while some are brilliant. One of my students who has passed out of school has made it big. He was once dull in class and does not know much. He was taking the last position in the class. I did tell them back then that they must read so hard for them to make it. Some were truly trying while some were lacking and did not even read. They were ready to copy from others during exams and continuous assessments.

This boy after he was out of school came back after a year with a flashy car. He stylishly said

Those who are not knowledgeable have made it, leaving those brilliant ones behind.

Hmmm… after a while I sat and thought of his words. I have seen a series of instances where so many dull students have made it in life leaving the brilliant ones behind.

I was surprised to see another one who cannot even write correctly becoming a millionaire. According to one of them, he has several houses and about three cars.

Now, my question is "what are they doing and how do they get their money?

I was initially thinking they made it through fraudulent acts but after critical observations, I found out that they got their money in a clean and legit way.

Now, these people turned around calling the school a scam. One of them said:

Master!!! What is the reason for going to school? At least we were told to go to school so that we can get to our mates and be even better than them, but now I'm better than those who were brilliant. Against all odds, I have concluded that school is a scam

Despite the funny aspect of it, there is some seriousness attached to it.

Although, some went through illegal ways to make their money while some are being paid by the internet just because of one thing or the other.

Please, don't mind them, education is the key to success.

Sort:  

Education or learning is key,but school is not.. School is a scam

"education is the road to greatness. No education, no wealth". I want to ask everyone here, is this statement true?

It's almost true. Education is one road to greatness and wealth, but that road isn't fit for everyone to travel.

Being able to communicate and persuade people is another road to wealth and greatness, and this road is probably the one that your 'dull' students took.

Hmmm.... This is true. This is what he used indeed.

Lol did you had to end it that way, I almost believed that education isn't the key anymore after reading those once dull students becoming successful lol

Infact, it so surprising to see them succeeding, you know. This is to tell you that today and tomorrow are not the same.

What is the reason for going to school?

The fact remains that making it in life is just about mindset and perseverance. It got to a point where I thought school was just for socializing because people still stay at home to learn.

So many still stay at home reading ND yet still make it great in life.

Exactly, so that just it.

Emmmm, education is the key to success base on the individual while it's a waste of time to many. Anyway, all we want is success

All we truly want is success...and nothing more

On point and this is my first time hearing good words from your mouth 🤣

Lo... Everybody has his or her own opinion on school.

I'll always chose to be positive about it anyday anytime

It's very clear now, Education is good but never a key determinant of success.
In this Life, just have a reasoning brain and connection on the right path, that's all.

Hmmm... Well said.

Funny enough, this is a typical experience in our modern-day life. Education is now a scam.
This is so as the author has mentioned. The best students in class now work as employees of those who were seen as not serious or not meeting up academically within the four walls of their classrooms.