First Day Experience working as a firefighter

in Comedy Open Mic15 days ago

Greetings everyone!

Once it gets to two years after graduation from school and one hasn't gotten a job, by then, the person would be looked at as a very unserious person or probably his result is not good enough to get a job, not even a cleaner job. That was my situation and at that time, I lost hope and was eager to join any job at all just in order not to appear as a failure in the eyes of people, at least to let them know that I graduated with a very good result. I wish it was possible to carry my result around and put it on my forehead then so that people would see.

When I was told of a recruitment of a fire service company, I didn't hesitate to join. Aside from the risk, I had calculated the work style from what I normally see in movies and I love it. I love how those firefighters go into burning buildings and rescue victims, running out in slow motion as heroes, and also the way they hold water pipes like guns while shooting the burning building with water, like Arnold Schwarzenegger in Commando, blasting his enemies that seized his daughter.

I went for the interview and I was employed, given all the kits which we keep at the workplace and only to use them whenever we are to go for fieldwork. The pay was very poor but I didn't mind; I had the mind of getting promoted, possibly to the position of the manager within a few months because I have good working experience from the way we used to curb bush burning in the village back then.

My first day at work came and took me unawares. Just five hours into the day, our boss received an emergency call about a burning shop in the city and he ordered all of us to get ready. Man, I was so happy because the time to feel like a hero had come. I quickly went to my space and kitted up with the yellow coverall, big boots, and an element that has a face cover, exactly like the ones that SWAT in Nollywood movies use. I was looking like an army already, and only a gun was missing from my hand.

Image source

We hopped into our van, 11 of us, and sirens of emergency were blared while we drove off with the water tank following us. The place was a little bit far and I kept imagining how disastrous the scene would be because of time-wasting.

Image source

As we got there, behold it wasn't what I had in mind or what I had seen in movies. The scene was a very fiery one and we could feel the heat of the fire from a far distance, it wasn't just an ordinary fire, it was an electric fire that was shocking with mere looking at it. As I saw the scene, I began to imagine a lot of things especially going close to the fire and getting burnt, oh God! It can't be me.

Good thing, we the new recruits were stationed to watch the experts do all the water shooting while we watched.

Thanks for reading.



Maybe this is a fiction 😏



This is for day 4 of #mayinleo prompt.
Do well to read the full details here

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

😂😂😂
The fire was an electric one which shocked you at the sight of it
Nice one😂
You should have man up and show yourself so you can be promoted
!BBH

@kingsleyy! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fashtioluwa. (1/5)

What an elder see while sitting down....

I didn't want to be faster than my Shadows, that's why I decided to watch the elders do their thing.

Thank you for stopping by
!BBH

@fashtioluwa! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (3/20)

Hehe
You’re welcome and I understand the adage you’re trying to make
I know the full one

Korecttttt👍

lol, I cannot imagine Kingsley enter to quench that kind fire lol life sweet aeg

Hahahaha 😂

I haven't enjoyed this life to the fullest. I prefer to watch the professionals do the fire quenching.😂

Thank you for stopping by

The initial day turned out to be quite unexpected, however observing seasoned professionals in action proved to be an invaluable learning opportunity.

Yeah, the best way to learn in situation like that is to observe the professionals so it.
Thank you for stopping by.

!BBH

@krish.kumar! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (2/20)

Is it possible to just be a professional fire watcher?

Very very possible.
Watching with Camera in the hand😂