HOW MOST NIGERIANS CALL THIS BEAUTIFUL BIRD "OWL" A WITCH/WIZARD

Up till now i still find myswlf asking Why we Nigerians do call or consider a very beautiful bird as a witch/wizard, while I was growing up I alway hear and see people calling the bird owl when it's pass by a witch/wizard weather it be day or night, my parents was also a part of these people and as time goes on, I also saw myself calling this beautiful creation a witch/wizard.

images (12).jpeg
source

When I was still in secondary school, may school mates do kill the owl when it was found in our school the most scary part is that the owl is not just killed and left alone, any time it was killed it was always poured Olive oil if there is any before the owl is usually set on fire, any every time I saw things event repeating itself, I always ask myself why.

Honestly speaking the owl do look scary when you see it in the darkness, and due to its nature as a nocturnal animal the owl is mostly seen at night, and over the years I have truly heard of stories where people the confirm that the owl when seen in the night are mostly humans who are witches/wizard and transform as an owl to carry out operations.

As times passes I do see the owl sometimes during the day and often on TV or while on social media. oh my God I do agree with those people who claims the owl is among the most beautiful bird's in the world, do you agree with me, if not you should

Here is a photo of the bird being talked about

images (13).jpeg
source

As a huge fan of NAT GEO Wild I do enjoy and love watching alkinds of animals those who most consider dangerous and scary and also those who are loved by most people and now I do believe and know that the owl is not a witch as most people in Niaja do call it and I'm also try to also convince and prove to my friends and school mates that the owl is truly not a witch and that the owl is one of the most beautiful bird in the world.

Thanks for reading till the end.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lexuspraise500! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.
You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

I needed a laugh and I went through this community, but I tell you something, in my country they call mothers-in-law witches and for sure not all of them are that bad. Well, regarding owls, I have never seen one, nor do I want to see one unless I am in love. I have known owls because of the people who associate them with intelligence, I had a collection of ceramics. I read on for a good laugh @lexuspraise500

Is it just the owl, how about cats?
Nigerians are a funny bunch. Don't even know how we got here. But we partly can blame Nollywodd. They sort of pushed the narratives via the movies.