You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (Sigh.) Chess Is Rude. (Sigh.)

I'm discovering my inner invalid

I laughed so hard at that, I think that I too may now be discovering my inner invalid.

My school didn't have a chess club (too rural), but it did have a Latin program, and they had chess tournaments (along with quiz, volleyball, and ping-pong) at the district 'Latin Club' events twice a year. I usually could place top five at those, but don't remember ever winning first. I used to play on FICS back in the dial-up modem days, and got my rating up around 1200.

I've been kinda wanting to get back into it, but I've hardly played in the last 20 years, and I don't think I could take the humiliation, after my previous brushes with modest success. Maybe in another year or two, I'll be ready to trigger my midlife crisis.

Sort:  

Oh, come on now... you still have some humility you can squander on my account! I have faith in you. 🙃 !LOL

But seriously... a 1200 rating is nothing to sneeze at (unless you ask anyone above 1500 🙄). I wish I had taken more of an interest when I was a kid. I couldn't even tell you if my schools had a chess club... I lived and breathed baseball.

I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment, and getting even one good laugh is well worth it. Cheers!

!PIZZA

What's the difference between a rain gutter and a clumsy outfielder?
One catches drops, the other drops catches.

Credit: reddit
@oldsoulnewb, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @thatcryptodave
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/1)

Thanks for the tips, soon I'll have enough of those to hand some out! I was pretty proud of my rating, but pretty much everyone over 1300 thought it was bullshit!

I do have the humility to squander, but currently, not the time. Last year... well, I'll just say it set me back, and I have to play catch-up this year. I'm hoping by October I'll have time to participate. In the meantime, I may start checking out the competition... 😁

Very cool.
And I totally understand... I was just ribbin' you a bit. Good fun. And you should definitely come watch me lose. It should be fun. 😒