The Best Instrumentalist In Town, Or Maybe The Worst

in Comedy Open Mic7 months ago

There's nothing as good as having very supportive parents, but having ones who are quite over supportive can also be an issue lol.

My mom is actually the type of person that sees good even in my small rubbish I sometimes call creativity. She is so supportive that when I want someone to genuinely grade my work or project based on beauty and quality, she is never among the top ten.

Why? Because she will always give the same expected result, some of such results are; "wow, this is so wonderful!! You should have a full 100% mark for this nice work", or "This is the best I have ever seen in my life" ( all this for a poorly made assignment lol). And of course if I over trust her own rating, I end up getting surprised when my teachers give me 10%, for the so called 'wonderfully made' assignment, even giving several reasons why mine is one of the worst he/she has marked lol.

Just 3 days ago, about 5 of my mom's friends came to pay her a surprise visit, and so a story led to another, and another, to yet another, but a particular part of their conversation I overheard, caught my attention — my mom and her friends were at that time, discussing about their children, and the instruments they play.

Well, about 2 weeks prior to that day, I enrolled to learn how to play the flute, and considering the time frame (just 2 weeks) it shows I'm still a newbie when it comes to playing flute but as usual, I knew my mom was going to place me as the best instrumentalist in town in front of her friends (I didn't believe her anyway,...that's her way lol).

That day, I overheard some of her friend, even naming dozens of instruments both common and uncommon ones, that their son/daughter could play, and soon enough, it was my mom's turn, and for sure, she began to talk about how good I was in playing flute( me that was barely 2 weeks old in this field)...she without stress, exaggerated my ability, way beyond even what I expected.

Well, just when I thought the situation couldn't get any worse, one of her friends yelled my name, to stand in front of them...without thinking twice, I walked to their midst, and shortly after they began to praise me just because of the way my mom talked about my skills. As a good guy, I didn't oppose my moms previous statement about my capability of playing flute, but instead I gave a fake smile back to them, and turned to leave when my mum told me to bring my flute, so I can entertain her friends with a little demo.

"Oh my God this woman just wants to disgrace me in front of her friends" I mouthed inaudibly...well, I couldn't refuse, I just had to obey her and give it my best.

I grabbed my flute, and summoned courage, went back to the sitting room, and told my mom to raise a song so I can play along, and she began to sing right away...believe me when I say "I tried my best." But my best was just as bad as my worst (read it again...don't ask what I meant ) lol.

I began to play off notes right from the very beginning,

Photo From Unsplash

and while playing, I could see the disappointment in the faces of my mum's friends even though they tried not to discourage me, and hence supported their friend's son. I continued regardless, but at some point, I stopped and told my mum who was already carried away by her song, that I was already tired and immediately I said that, her friends gave me a round of applause, as if to say they had actually had enough of the frustrating sound of my flute lol.

Leaving the scene, with shame and embarrassment, my mom was like "did you guys just see that powerful ministration by my son...he is too good." This got me even more ashamed, but the funny thing was how her friends tried to pretend they didn't hear my 9 minutes of off-notes...or maybe my ears were just playing on my intelligence.

Well, In all this case, please permit me to follow my mum's judgment just this one time, in terms of my ability to play flute...in other words, I am the best instrumentalist in town (even though I know my flute desperately wishes to argue that with me).

Thanks For Reading.

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 15% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Hahaha mothers will forever be mothers you know so don't be depressed about it, you know it might really sound good to her ears hehe

Hahaha mothers will forever be mothers

Yeah lol😂😂

you know it might really sound good to her ears hehe

So it seems lol😂😂👍

Thanks for reading 👋👋

You are welcome

Congratulations @timix648! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 100 posts.
Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @timix648.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Your mother is a super fan of all you do, 😂😂

There's nothing we can do that to go with the flow

Your mother is a super fan of all you do, 😂😂

Very true lol😂

Charity begins at home, and you are the home, i am referring to, for the fact that, you praised your self too, just as your mom does, that means, you are a good instrumentalist.
So are you saying none of your mom's friends didn't tells your mom, that you didn't try with the flute, you should have been a good instrumentalist just as your mom wants you to be, yet you disappoint her.

Thanks for your support!! 👋

Africa mother will always be Africa mother 😂😂

You Crack Us Up!

This Post Was Manually Curated by the FUN Curation Team.
Help reward #fun content creators by joining our curation trail on Hive.Vote.
Or Delegate Hive to @lolz.curate and earn LOLZ farming rewards.

Click to delegate 10, 25, 50, 100, or 1000 HP with HiveSigner.