My Quick Avocado, Mushroom, Spinach & Chia Breakfast Bowl

IMG_7384.jpeg

I am normally not an early morning breakfast person. I have something small and specifically nutritious with my coffee when I rise, then healthy-sized meals in late morning and late afternoon. But when I'm going to be particularly active, or on the diet I'm following now, a want a bit more substance. One of my favorite morning meals takes less than 10 minutes, and carries me through until dinner time.

I start by slicing up 3-4 crimini mushrooms. Mushrooms can have such a great umami flavor, and sautéing them in a little unsalted butter and avocado oil brings out that richness I love. The mix of butter and oil adds a hint of fat while browning the fungi well.

IMG_7375.jpeg

While that's cooking, I put half of an avocado in a bowl with two tablespoons of chia seed. Chia has great nutrition and lots of fiber content. Most of my dishes have a spicy element, and I achieve that here with some Humble House hot sauce. If I'm seeking a mild heat, I'll squirt it over the top of the finished bowl. But if I'm after a good punch, I prefer mixing it into the avocado-chia mix to distribute the heat evenly.

IMG_7381.jpeg

Once the shrooms have browned and lost much of their water content, I sprinkle on my favorite multi-use seasoning, Fox Point. This blend of salt, shallot, chive, garlic, onion and green peppercorn is so versatile, and really brightens up the dish.

IMG_7377.jpeg

Next comes a handful or cup of spinach into the skillet and give it a stir. Wilting the spinach this way only takes a minute, so if you're adding fresh minced garlic, now's the time to do it.

IMG_7382.jpeg

I didn't add egg this time. When I do, I clear a spot in the middle of my saute pan and put it there, cook to mostly firm, then stir it into the shrooms and spinach.

IMG_7383.jpeg

All that's left now is to put the sautéed blend on top of my avocado chia base and stir everything together. You can up the flavor with crumbled bacon or other diced meats, but this bowl as is holds me over for most of the day.

My base creation of avocado, chia, avocado oil, butter, crimini mushrooms and spinach contains 320 calories, 9g protein, 18g carbs, 16g fiber, 1g sugar, 25g fat, and 59g sodium. The energy distribution is 3% net carbs, 84% fat, and 13% protein.

Sort:  

Looks good and healthy.

This is a hearty and healthy breakfast idea. I love anything with mushrooms and spinach. I'll make sure to bookmark this recipe.
Have a nice day:)))

I'm glad that you may benefit from it.😀

Posted via D.Buzz

Congratulations @bobbyb58! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 600 replies.
Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP