Nerd By Northwest #181 – “In the Presence of Greatness”

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro4 years ago (edited)

Cam develops a bit of a gamer crush...

Nerd By Northwest #181 – “In the Presence of Greatness”
(Click on the image to see the full-size version)


Most of us who were kids in the 80's had a favorite arcade game. While it's hard to narrow it down to just one, "Discs of Tron" is definitely in my top five... right along with "Willow", "Strider", "Space Ace", and "Cliff Hanger". The last one, "Cliff Hanger" was a rather obscure laserdisc game (like Dragon's Lair and Space Ace) that used animation based off of a couple of the classic "Lupin III" anime films (mostly "Castle of Cagliostro"). When I think about it, I was pretty lucky that my corner of Alaska had such an insanely wide variety of video games when I was growing up.

At any rate, my eventual goal is to have these five games (at minimum) in a prominent place in my own private man-cave. And I'm talking the original arcade game cabinets... those cheapo replicas they're selling at the local Walmart are for posers! 😉


Want to see the other Nerd By Northwest webcomics? Use the convenient links below!

First
Previous
Next

Sort:  

I was reading about Pacman being 40 years old. My favourite was the vector graphics Star Wars that you sat in. I, Robot was a strange one and Tempest was cool. Not that I was any good at any of them.

"I, Robot" is one I've actually never seen or played before. I looked it up, and apparently it was a somewhat rare game. Guess it didn't make it up to Alaska's arcade rooms...