Fish growing

in Fish Keepers4 years ago

Well look what I found, a fish keeper community! Yay!
Here is a few pics of my little fishes. Some of you may remember I brought them into the new aquarium from the Koi pond last year just before winter. They were only about 3-4 inches long when we got them. Look how they've grown! We actually moved half of them back outside this spring.
IMG_20200727_121645.jpg

IMG_20200727_121658.jpg
This guy is one of the largest, as big as my hand! Looks even bigger than the pic in real life.

IMG_20200727_121525.jpg
These Plecostomus were only 2-3 inches long from the pet store last fall. Look at them now, like 6 inches long or more. They can supposedly get up to 20 inches.

IMG_20200727_121547.jpg

And last, a nice little pan video of the fishes swimming around.

Enjoy!
@ksteem

Sort:  

I'm not into fish...Well, I eat them I guess, but don't have any at home in a tank. I've always wanted to though, just never got around to it. I sent away from some sea monkeys when I was about 6 years old though. Does that count?

lol, an upvote just for the memory of Sea Monkeys. I had a little aquarium for a while as a kid and always wanted a large one with larger fish. Finally had the excuse last year. That one goldfish is almost as big as the crappie we used to filet and fry up. I do find watching them calming and the cats enjoy them. It is a bit of a pain having to clean the tank each week or two, but has become part of my routine.

I've always found watching fish in tanks relaxing too, that's why I wanted to get some. Alas the week to two week cleaning regime isn't so relaxing I bet.

Depending on the day, if I"m not busy I actually do find even the cleaning relaxing. If busy, it's just another thing to do that I don't have time for, even though it only takes 30-45 min.

Tasks like that, cleaning the tank can be I guess...I find reloading relaxing...Repetitive motions and a nice result at the end. Car washing (my own) is something else I like doing mostly...Rewarding.

Exactly like that. Kind of like knife sharpening. Speaking of which, I just made an impulse buy on a custom one. It spoke to me, had to have it. May take it a couple weeks to get here. Will post pics. On that note for your culling, do you have to clean and cart (needing a sharp knife), or just leave them for predators? One of my favorite Clint Eastwood quotes "Buzzards got to eat, same as worms".

With the kangaroos they stay where they fall and within a week or so are pretty much gone. Sometimes the farmer will use them for non-commercial purposes, but removing them from the property is not permitted. With the deer we take them and process them for consumption, non-commercial.

I've got a could knives and always have one suitable for cutting and one for general use when I am out hunting or culling. I'll be keen to see your new one. Feel free to put it in The Pew.

That's a nice aquarium with pretty big fish nice !
And the decoration modules are quite awesome too :)

Thanks, if you can't tell we set it up last year around halloween. Just couldn't resist that big scary tree! Who knows, maybe I'll change some out for an Xmas scene this holiday and actually clean in and under the old ones.. yuk.

The tree need to remain, it's cool, wrost case put some Christmas light on it :D

Lol, Great idea, I will have to look for some! What a hoot!

I have some fish too, but my most impressive fish are my 2 dojo loaches that on average are supposed to get 6 inches and one is 12 inches and the other is 12.5 inches.

Wow, you must be feeding them well. Now if all women could measure like you ;)

They never stop eating :) Ate my moss ball and all my plants too :) LOL, measuring is a special skill :)