Today has been a rollercoaster...

in Fish Keepers2 years ago (edited)

My god... Today started off fine, i got up late a usualbut was feeling ready to get stuff done and then just as i go to sit down to eat my dinner what do i see?

One of my gold fish.. Floating doing the dead fish float..

I go and i grab fish and begin moving it around a bit to get flow around its gills. Its dead.. Im sure..

BUT then mouth twitch.. I begin to gently squeezing the fish, massaging it in my hand. It begins to start breathing again.. But that's just about all it can do.

I stand there at my tank holding my fish close to the water outlet, letting fresh water flow into its mouth.. For a good 30 mins i stood there.

My dad went and got my breeder box which we set up and suspended infront of the outlet and we put the fish in it.

I could rest. My arms and legs where getting tired.

img_0.856017143315662

Spent the next 2 hours monitoring the fish. Making sure it was still breathing

It wasn't until around 5 hours after everything started that my fish finally had the energy to keep itself upright and swim around safely.

img_0.1993449447259909

Its now back to normal.. Its eating and swimming happily. Hopefully no further complications happen..

I dont know how long it sat there seemingly dead. I dont know what even happened..

A heart attack maybe? Did massarging the fish act like cpr? No idea..

Im just glad its alive and seemingly doing well. Ive had this fish for over 6 years. I hope itll stick around a little longer.

Now i just need to deal with my stress levels and.. Chill

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing, @shmoogleosukami - how's the fish doing now?

Hope you've managed to chill, and are ready for the meet up in Halifax tomorrow. Ben and I are looking forward to meeting you.

Annabelle 😊

Fish is doing well now, back to its old self

Phew! That is good news, @shmoogleosukami.

Annabelle 😊

Hi @shmoogleosukami,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

The thing with fancy goldfish is they sometimes have a swim bladder problem. It's usually that they ate too much.