Update on my Aquariums!

A quick update on my Aquariums!

250L Bullet Tank

I've had a little switch around on the landscape of my large bullet tank, I've moved the rock that was at the front more to the middle and shimmied the plants along. Also made a makeshift cave or overpass at the back with the rocks and the wood.

As you can see my Pleco decided to do a bit of gardening and uproot some of the plants.

IMG_20200520_142017.jpg

200L Regular Tank

This tank the plants have just gone crazy! I've been trimming them back to insure enough light reaches the bottom so they don't start shedding their leaves and making a mess. It seems to be working for now.

I still only have 2 fish in here, still unsure what to do and with the pandemic going on I can't really get new fish anyway.

IMG_20200520_142003.jpg

I've discovered that my filter pumps are losing a great deal of their flowrate due to filter media and also the head height being 1.3m.

I'm estimating I'm going from 1000L/h to around 300L/h which isn't enough for my bullet tank. Ideally you want to change a tanks worth of water every 15 mins. Which would mean I need 1000L/h with filter media.

I have plans to upgrade my filters at some point but pandemic makes everything out of stock and hard to get hold of. So in the mean time I'm going to save up all my money and when all this mess is over and done with go on a shopping spree.


If you liked my post feel free to upvote, reblog and be sure to leave a comment!

Also be sure to check out my other social media accounts!

Where to find me:

PeakD | Hive.blog | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Youtube | 3Speak | Vimm.TV | Twitch.TV

Check out the Hive UK Discord

Sort:  

I wonder if its possible to make your own filters, do they have to be particularly fine? Maybe some stockings over a larger area, like a piece of pipe with holes drilled in it?

Generally you'd want multiple layers with course, medium and fine foam. The idea being the big bits get caught first so the filter doesn't clog too fast. A single fine foam/stocking/wadding would clog pretty quick.

Yes, it's possible. I don't know much about the technique but my landlord made his own filters with pipe.