You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stop killing us! Bike community protest in Kyiv

in Team Ukraine3 years ago

Hey @boga4, I found your blog today from playing CBM.

Indeed, I remember saving my life many, many times when cycling through cities.

I experienced Vienna as a city with lots of bike lanes and even separated bike roads.

One time I saw a car bumper sticker from Oregon that stated something like: "Thanks for relieving traffic by riding your bike." From then on I realized, when conducting a car, how it is priceless to keep space for cyclists - i.e. at traffic lights or in jams - even though there is no road marking. And even road markings are crap often times, because they are to narrow for careless-drivers to recognize.

Best strategy I experience for a save drive is being anti-aggressive and talking to people - if they are open to listen. Anyway, take care!