You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Ukrainian Refugees are living in Almere, Netherlands | 11 months of the war in Ukraine - life update

Goodness, there is no shortage of food in any European city. There are organisations working on food sharing (distributing and collecting food) everywhere. People collect food from private homes and businesses that would otherwise throw it away. If you go to a food chain and talk to the store manager, he will immediately assure you that you will get enough for you and the people you know - otherwise talk to the food sharing organisers in Germany, they can surely help you (website: https://foodsharing.de/). People are all concerned about the refugees and will be only too happy to help, if only to look good. You can either meet them in their vanity or in their compassion. If there is one problem that does not exist, it is starvation. Of course, the longer-term prospects of people who have had to leave their homes are quite different. But the most urgent problem of "hunger" does not arise here at present.

Sort:  

From the beginning when the war broke out, Germany was dealing with the situation nicely and the whole of Europe welcomes all the refugees from Ukraine. Here in the Netherlands, a lot of help is available as well but currently, things are complicated because of the rules and regulations. People are helping each other still and the government is trying its best to help the refugees. But due to a lack of management and ignorance, the food is not reaching the refugees. For example, in my shelter, currently, 250 refugees are living but there is always a shortage of food. Why this is happening? Because the organization that is responsible for providing the food is not doing their work properly and mismanagement caused this issue. As a result, for one week, not adequate food has been delivered.

Already letter has been sent to the municipality regarding this issue.

Thanks for discussing this issue...

Insofar as things don't work out on the organisational side, what is stopping you and your fellow refugees from taking things into your own hands? If you are waiting for food and it doesn't come, wouldn't it be sensible to take action yourself?

You will surely have a supermarket nearby where you can get in touch with the store manager to shorten the distances and bypass the middleman. In addition, there will be just as many organisations in the Netherlands as in Germany, such as the "Tafel", which provides food in many places and is networked with the state-organised agencies. There are sure to be many social counselling centres in your neighbourhood where people are eager to help you and also mess with those who have the organisation of food and other aid under their supervision.

Where an emergency is disclosed by those affected, you can always count on it to generate enough action to put an end to the food supply stoppage. But you have to do something if it doesn't happen on its own. If a letter is enough to resolve the situation, assume that a complaint is enough to get the food supply flowing again. But then such complaints about something not working are less relevant and, as always in life, the one who complains loudly then gets his need met. Just don't expect everything to run smoothly all the time. That would be unrealistic.

Do you think I am complaining here and asking for help? I guess you don't follow up on my articles and I also work for refugees. You are talking about Tafel, which provides refugee dinner, with 1 box containing 10 packets of rice, and 1 package of meat for 20 people but in the end, the meat is not enough for 20 people. Now tell me one thing, I go to the Tafel and say please help me, and where I will get the money to buy the food for the 270 refugees? Using my own salary?

I work in F&B where refugees eat and I guess I know the situation and how things work here. Silgro (supermarket) provides food for the morning {breakfast/lunch) but if someone from the organization messed up the order or does not understand how much should be ordered then what Tafel and the supermarket can do? Tefal and Silgro provide food for 1 week and because of the incompetence and irresponsible attitude of someone from the organization who is getting money from the government and responsible for ordering the food, this happened. Last but not least, on Saturday and Sunday, no food delivery chain works.

When a specific organization works for a specific refugee shelter, other organization doesn't want to get involved.

Just don't expect everything to run smoothly all the time. That would be unrealistic.

I really wish I could show you what exactly happening here every day... If you don't understand my point then please no need to argue...

Peace...

Yes, you are complaining and that is my response to your complaint about incompetent organisations.

Take my statement as "if one body doesn't work, there are other bodies that do work and want to get involved". If there is no foodsharing organisation in the Netherlands yet, start it with people who want to and can do it. Use the skills and experience of the German network for this, for example.

To be able to counteract bottlenecks like the one you are experiencing now.

For some time, I worked with my husband as a food collector and we cycled to the various bakeries, supermarkets and event locations to collect the food. As long as there are supermarkets with full shelves, bakeries that have to throw away their goods due to overproduction and events that have food catering with leftover food, you can count on the collection and distribution to work. If one place doesn't work, switch to alternatives. There are always ways to get food.

Now tell me one thing, I go to the Tafel and say please help me, and where I will get the money to buy the food for the 270 refugees? Using my own salary?

You don't need money for this. You need people and work on those things which are promising and abandon those who aren't.

If you don't want help or suggestions in response to a situation you describe as a need, then rephrase it.

Yes, you are complaining and that is my response to your complaint about incompetent organisations.

If you think sharing my thoughts is a complaint then you get everything wrong.

pathetics don't work on me.

We are not beggars that we will eat leftovers and please don't think we came to Europe to chase our dreams, we were forced to leave the country. We came here for safety otherwise we would never leave our home.

There is something called a contract and as I have said, I didn't ask for a solution and as you are not in my shoe or can't experience what exactly happening, then don't give me a free lecture. And if you wanna give me a free lecture (it's an open free-speech platform) then you have to also accept my thoughts instead of telling me pathetic. You tried to give me examples of Tafel and supermarkets and as you can see I know already how Tefal and Supermarkets are working with this issue as I am part of this food chain supply and organization. The solution you are sharing here is not for me as I am a refugee as well who experienced and saw everything from both sides and decided to write this article...