Wartime Diary, Kyiv, 25.07.22

in Team Ukraine2 years ago

151st day of the war.

The war in Ukraine has lasted for 150 days.

Війна в Україні триває вже 150 днів.

image.png

CREDIT

At the beginning of this horror, I thought it would be over quickly. It was so wild and incomprehensible that I did not understand what was happening. After the first two weeks, it seemed that it would never end, that there was only a dark winter ahead, fear and terror. Uncertainty. Helplessness. And then death.

На початку цього жаху мені здавалося, що це має закінчитися швидко. Це було настільки дико та незбагненно, що я не розуміла, що відбувалося. Після перших двох тижнів здавалося, що це не закінчиться ніколи, що попереду лише безпросвітня зима, страх та терор. Невизначеність. Безпорадність. Згодом - смерть.

This is what it seemed to me back then.

Так здавалося тоді.

Now, of course, it's much easier. You can't get used to the deaths of people in your country, you can't get used to the sound of air raid sirens, you can't get used to the fact that entire cities are wiped off the face of the earth. But you can get used to the way of reacting to these events, you can understand what to do. Time has passed, and it helped rethink many things. For example, the fact that at some point I may lose my home. Accepting this thought helped me to realize that I should not focus on material values, but should take care of my life and the lives of my loved ones. It is much easier to live this way during the war.

Тепер, звісно, набагато легше. Не можна звикнути до смертей людей в своїй країні, не можна звикнути до звуку повітряних тривог, не можна звикнути до того, що цілі міста стираються з лиця землі. Але можна звикнути до способу реагування на ці події, можна розуміти, що робити. Пройшов час, і він допоміг переосмислити багато речей. Наприклад те, що в якийсь момент я можу втратити домівку. Прийняття цієї думки допомогло мені усвідомити, що не варто зосереджуватися на матеріальних цінностях, а варто піклуватися про своє життя та життя своїх близьких. Так жити під час війни набагато легше.

image.png

Rainy Khreshchatyk through a window glass. 150th day of the war.

Over these 5 months, I have analyzed my role in this war a lot, as well as what I personally can do to help.

За ці 5 місяців я багато аналізувала те, яка моя роль в цій війні та як я можу допомагати.

In addition to regular help to the army and volunteers who take care of vulnerable sections of the population, I see my mission in this war on the information front. I can write about the war in Ukraine in English and I have acquaintances in Europe and the States who can spread this information. So I try to regularly post stories and posts about what is happening in Kyiv and Ukraine in general, about urgent problems, about my own feelings. I believe that the world should understand the problems of ordinary Ukrainians, see that this is not a "war of politicians", not a joke and not a "local conflict", but that ordinary people like me are experiencing it.

Окрім регулярної допомоги армії та волонтерам, які опікуються вразливими верствами населення, свою місію в цій війні я вбачаю на інформаційному фронті. Я можу писати про війну в Україні англійською та маю знайомих в Європі та Штатах, які можуть цю інформацію поширювати. Тож я намагаюся регулярно постити історії та дописи про те, що відбувається в Києві та Україні загалом, про нагальні проблеми, про власні почуття. Вважаю, що світ має розуміти проблеми звичайних українців, бачити, що це не "війна політиків", не жарт та не "локальний конфлікт", а саме такі прості люди як я переживають це.

My Instagram story yesterday turned out to be very powerful. Powerful for my friends abroad, but not for Ukrainians - for us, unfortunately, it is already a common thing. I posted a video that shows nothing but the black night sky, which is not illuminated by anything due to light masking in the city. In the background of the video is the piercing sound of an air raid siren, which we have heard hundreds of times.

Потужною виявилася моя вчорашня історія в Інстаграм. Потужною для моїх зкордонних друзів, але не для українців - для нас це вже, на жаль, звична справа. Я виставила відео, на якому нічого не видно, окрім чорного нічного неба, яке не підсвічено нічим через світломаскування в місті. На фоні відео пронизливий звук сирени повітряної тривоги, який ми чули вже сотні разів.

image.png

My yesterday's story on Instagram. Got many reactions from my foreign friends to whom the sound of an air raid siren is something from grandparent's stories or wartime movies.

In particular, I have returned to my Twitter account after a break of more than 4 years. Currently, I consider this the most relevant platform for drawing the attention of the world community to the war in Ukraine. I also, of course, keep a regular diary of the war through my eyes here on Hive, where I write about events that concern or impress me. About what I think the world needs to know. I hope I'm not doing this in vain and at least one person reads this. And I also hope that in a few years I will reread this diary and all this will seem to me just a terrible nightmare that has long passed.

Зокрема я повернулася до свого Твітер-акаунту після більше 4 років перерви. Наразі я вважаю це найактуальнішою платформою дя привернення уваги світової спільноти до війни в Україні. Також, звісно, я веду регулярний щоденник війни моїми очима тут, на Hive, де пишу про події, які хвилюють чи вражають мене. Про те, що, на мою думку, має знати світ. Сподіваюся, я роблю це не дарма. Якщо хоча б одна людина прочитає мою історію, я буду рада. А ще сподіваюся, що через декілька років перечитаю цей щоденник та все це здасться мені лише страшним сном, який давно минувся.

Until then, let's do everything for our victory and hold on, because we have to be strong to continue the fight - everyone on their own front.
А до того часу робімо все для нашої перемоги та тримаймося, адже маємо бути сильнимо, аби продовжувати боротьбу - кожен на своєму фронті.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  Reveal Comment