"SHUKAI!" Project ~ Sonja buy fresh bread at Golden Gates and learn about first computer, p.#2 - 3

in Team Ukraine3 years ago

Hello there!

The other day, Sonja found the next bronze mini-sculpture - Golden Gates. It is located in less than 200 m from the landmark itself, on the wall of our favorite bakery Boulangerie. By the way, do you know that Baguette can be called only the bread that was baked where it is sold?

Actually, Sonja often passed it by and never noticed.

Golden Gates

DSC03879.jpg

Rub me and all doors will open for you.

Ages ago, Golden Gates was the central gate of the Upper Town. Now it may sound strange as nowadays they are in the very heart of the city. According to the chronicle, it was built in 1037 by Prince Yaroslav the Wise. There is a version that the prince named them so for reminiscent of the Golden Gate of Constantinople and Jerusalem. In fact the gate was built of stone, but the wooden gates were covered with sheets of red copper. Only the bathhouse of the Church of the Annunciation was gilded. It all shone in the sun like gold.

DSC038763.jpg

Just down the same street, Sonja found another interesting and quite unexpected mini-sculpture dedicated to the Small Computing Electronic Machine.

Kyiv Computer

DSC03882.jpg

Rub me and it will be good internet.

They say it was the first electronic computer in continental Europe! The development of the Computer was started in 1948, and the first launch was performed on November 6th, 1950.

DSC03880.jpg

From the web page of the mini-sculpture:

"It supported commands: addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, binary shifts, comparison taking sign into account, comparison of absolute values, transfer of control, transfer of numbers from a magnetic drum, addition of commands, stop."

"From 1952 to 1956, MEOM was running 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. All these years, it solved the tasks from various applications: thermonuclear processes, space flights, missile technologies, mechanics, statistical quality control, supersonic aviation, and more."

Now, our smartphone can perform much more impressive operations. Here, I'd like to quote Bjarne Stroustrup, inventor of C++:
"I always wished that my computer was as easy to use as my telephone. I finally got my wish. I no longer know how to use my telephone."

This is all for today :) Thanks a lot for a visit, and stay tuned!



@zirochka

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 41 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

"I always wished that my computer was as easy to use as my telephone. I finally got my wish. I no longer know how to use my telephone."

Треба бути обережним зі своїми бажаннями.

Повністю згодна

What wonderful little sculptures these are! 😃

To show how good your photos are, I zoomed-in on the second photo on my computer and was able to scan the QR-CODE on the brass plaque with my phone! The page opened! 😁

You are the true explorer, my dear! So nice to know someone enjoys it, except of me )))

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @thekittygirl, here is a little bit of BEER from @zirochka for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.