Deino Community Day Recap - Shiny Lucky Hydreigon 🤩

in Pokemon GO • 2 years ago

thumbnail.png

Ahoy! I've been a bit busy in the past week or so and two weekends, which is why I'm posting this quite late! This past weekend, on Saturday July 25th the monthly Community Day took place. This time featuring Deino, the Irate Pokémon. Deino could already be Shiny prior to this Community Day, but I had not been lucky to get one yet so this was a good time for me to try and get one! Especially as I did manage to have time to play then.

That Community Day featured 2x Catch Candy and also a double chance for XL Candy from catching Deino. And a 1/4th Hatch Distance for Eggs placed in Incubators during the event. Apart from that it had the same additional bonuses as other Community Days. With one change, being that the bonuses for trading, and getting the Community Day move from evolving could now be up to 5 hours after the event. This is due to additional Deino spawns by doing Raids after the Community Day. More on that later.

Let's see some stats for Deino before the Community Day started. Here are all the Deino I still had from before the Community Day. One 98% IV Deino I hatched sometime in 2020. As you can see from my Pokédex I didn't have Shiny Deino yet and no Hydreigon in my Pokédex yet.

Deino Before.png

That Deino in the end where I show the Candy I had for it is one that I caught at the start of the Community Day.

I was in the city centre at the start of the Community Day and then met up there with some friends to go walk around with. We also ran into a few others we know sometimes, which was good to have a little chat with them as well while catching the Deino that were there.

Here is one of my Shiny Deino encounters and its stats.

Shiny Deino encounter.png

Let's see at the end of the event how many I was able to catch. Aha, it seems that I got 16 Shiny Deino! Prety good. No 4-star Shiny unfortunately, but when I filtered for 3-star Shiny I did get one result!

Shiny Deino total.png

Unfortunately a 14 CP one 😅

To have the post a bit more in the proper order, I'll first get to the stats after the Community Day before heading into some of the trading.

So here are photos of my Deino and Zweilous Pokédex registry for their stats. Whenever enough Deino were caught from a single Lure Module, wild Zweilous would appear near that Lure Module. So I'm including the Zweilous Pokédex registry to show how many I've caught. Although I didn't have a before screenshot of that one to compare the stats.

Deino After.png

Let's compare those stats:

  • 134 Deino caught before and 496 after, so I caught 362 Deino during the event. Also a lot of them ran away, which is partially due to the gotcha that I used for part of the event
  • Unsure on the exact Zweilous catches, but I assume that's gonna be over 60.
  • 905 Candy before and 4797 Candy after, that's 3892 Deino Candy.
  • 138 XL Candy before and 686 XL Candy after, that's 548 Deino Candy XL.

A really good amount of Candy for 362 Deino catches and about 60 Zweilous catches. This is thanks to the 2x Catch Candy, and also I had my Mega Charizard X active. It gave me an additional 2 Deino Candy, and a higher chance for XL Candy, for every Deino and Zweilous catch. Also 100 extra XP per catch thanks to the Mega.

After the event was over I traded some of the worst IV Shiny Deino with a friend. Because we could do 3 Special Trades. 2 per day from the Season of GO bonuses and one additional one during (or up to 5 hours after) the Community Day.

From those 3 Special Trades, we actually ended up getting a Lucky Shiny Deino!!! 🤩

Lucky Shiny Deino.png

And look at those great stats as well! 😄

Time to evolve this one. That way I have the Shiny Hydreigon Pokédex registry, and also have Zweilous and Hydreigon Lucky in the Pokédex with the same evolve! Here are photos of the evolution and Pokédex registry.

Lucky Shiny Hydreigon Registry.png

During the Community Day I also managed to get a 100% IV! Someone mentioned that they had caught one somewhere, so my group decided to walk there to see if we could catch it and yes it was still there! 😄 I evolved it to get the Community Day exclusive Charged Attack "Brutal Swing" and immediately leveled it to level 40 already. Since I have enough Candy XL I might power it up to level 50, but haven't done that just yet.

YAY 100 IV.png

Raid Battles for more Deino spawns

After the Community Day, for 5 more hours there would be a lot of 4-star Raids, and from what I noticed 5-star Raids as well, appearing on Gyms. These would remain active for 30 minutes after hatching. All of these 4-star Raids that appeared on the Gyms after 2 pm and until 7 pm all contained Zweilous. Defeating one of these Raids, would cause Deino to appear in a 300 meter radius around that Gym for 30 more minutes. This is something new since this Community Day, and as the July Community Day has already been announced it seems it'll be the case there too. These spawns still have the same Shiny chance as during the Community Day hours, but the other bonuses from the Community Day were gone.

Those Raids can only be done with the daily Raid Pass or a Premium Raid Pass, no Remote invites at all. This is a move by Naintic to encourage the Communities to engage more again.

After the Community Day I had been home for a bit, charge my stuff up etc. Eventually I decided to go for a walk again with one friend and we decided to try one of those Zweilous Raids since we still had the free daily Raid Pass. These Zweilous Raids were tough!!!

My friend and I lost our first attempt! Which was with the Pokémon we got suggested. A few Fairy-type Pokémon and also some Machamp because Fighting-types were weather booster and our Fairy-type line-ups aren't the greatest. We do like a challenge, so after that loss, we wanted to try again.

This time we Mega Evolved Altaria, to boost Fairy-types, and while we were in the Raid Lobby we created our party. Putting all our Fairy-type attackers first and maybe one or two Machamp in the back. We also made sure that I started with Mega Altaria to boost my friend's Fairy-type attacks, and they had their Mega Altaria later in the party so that when my Mega Altaria fainted they could switch to theirs and boost my Fairy-type attackers.

With that line-up, we were able to beat the Zweilous Raid, but with basically no time to spare at all!! It was suuuuuuper close!! Here is a screenshot I took when we defeated the Zweilous and as you can see there is basically no time left.

Zweilous Raid with two.png

That was such a tough fight! I'm glad we were able to defeat it! 😄

As I mentioned the Fighting-types were weather boosted which should mean Fairy-type were also weather boosted. If you want to actually do these Raids after Community Day I guess you're better off with at least 3+ people.

After catching the Zweilous from the Raid we suddenly saw all the wild Pokémon around the Gym turn into Deino. And then we spent the next 30 minutes walking in an area around that Gym to continue catching some Deino 😄 We knew if we walked too far when the Pokémon we saw appearing weren't Deino.

How was the Community Day for you? Did you do one or more of those Zweilous Raids after 2 pm to get more Deino spawns?

Sort:  

Nice work, I don't have a good Deino at all yet, They seem to be used a fair bit in the raids I join, I will have to starting my act together !LOL

Where do cats go for fun?
An a-mews-ment park

Credit: reddit
@athunderstruck, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @new.things
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(3/8)

Thank you! Yeah they've been really rare to get. This Community Day was so great to finally catch a lot and hope for finding a great one. With that Community Day move it seems to be a great Dark-type attacker! I'm not so sure if it's good as a Dragon-type attacker compared to the other ones available. Maybe you can try to get a good one by December as the move should be available again in the December Community Day weekend.