I see you ❤️

in Motherhood2 years ago (edited)

Today is errands day! Busy, busy, busy!! Time flies, and in just a blink of an eye January 2022 is already ending! Not too sure how to feel about that.

My husband has started his work leave today, so to let him rest in a little before the busy day starts I took it upon myself to send my firstborn to school. We'll be heading back to my husband's hometown tomorrow so as not to catch on with traffic due to the festivities so today is Miss A's last day of school.

My firstborn is 7 this year and in a couple more months she'll be entering Primary 1. Sometimes the mom guilt in this is strong because I have not been able to spend more time with her ever since her younger siblings came along. But my God, He has been so kind to gift us such an understanding and kind daughter. Helpful and loving to her younger brothers. And her brothers? They adore her!

So before I dropped her off at school, we took a picture together to ease her up. Recently whenever the car is nearing the school, she'd start feeling nervous. I understand some children need longer time than others to come to terms with going back to school physically again after the long lockdown, so I'd encourage her to focus looking forward to meeting her friends and classmates instead. You know, think about the good times, the fun times. The games. The laughter. The interesting things she is going to learn for the day.


img_0.9856881915200951.jpg

After seeing her off, I drove to the nearby ATM machine to withdraw some cash and decided to grab some food for breakfast. The morning sun was already smiling widely as the rays touched every possible place exposed. I could feel the welcoming warmth of the sunshine on my skin. It felt good to be out and about alone once in a while. So I went ahead and grabbed two slices of apam balik from the Malay uncle who sells them on his cart, an Asian pancake with sweet corn, butter/margarine, crushed peanuts and sugar sandwiched within.


img_0.4048872945672947.jpg


img_0.601569238508571.jpg

Next, just in opposite his cart was a Chinese uncle selling you tiao. It's fried dough made in a shape of a long stick. I bought one and requested for it to be cut into pieces for easy consumption. Also got two pieces of fried glutinous rice buns.


img_0.9598664844670618.jpg


img_0.34685168822157586.jpg


img_0.9528097849201425.jpg

Then, it was time to head home to be with my boys and enjoy our breakfast! Here's our front door with some Chinese New Year decorations on, looking at them makes me feel festive and happy!


img_0.593152906871995.jpg

Ahhh, my precious!


img_0.6203317213429106.jpg

Here's what the apam balik looks like when enjoyed! It's nutty, sweet and a little salty, and with the butter/margarine it smells divine! This has to be enjoyed while it's hot for maximum satisfaction!


img_0.37417944666659886.jpg

Then there's the sweet glutinous rice bun, yums! Soft and warm, just like a hugging a baby. Haha!


img_0.6877379097935454.jpg

Later on, I went out again to get us a new mop for our spring cleaning. And this time, I brought my second born with me. He was excited to say the least.


img_0.9932194653807179.jpg


img_0.732714125076482.jpg

We quickly went to buy the mop I wanted, and while queueing I spotted a cutie!


img_0.8348737160564272.jpg

Up next, we drove to the nearby store to grab baby brother's milk powder. It was such a beautiful morning and we enjoyed our little time out before heading home.


img_0.48867039962089076.jpg

While driving back, I thanked my little guy for the company and that I enjoyed my time with him. He said he enjoyed being out with me too.

Last but not least, we grabbed a photo together with shades on as well just for the fun of it.


img_0.8818749332793566.jpg

After a long, long day managing and cleaning with my husband, I'm reminded again that being promoted to be a parent of 3 is no laughing matter. The madness is oftentimes a little too overwhelming for me. Yea sure, my husband and I would laugh about the daily happenings at the end of the day but try washing butts the whole day and being tugged in every direction, called mama every few minutes, stop fights (or possible murder lol), keeping everyone alive and body parts intact, constantly negotiating over snacks and cleaning up crumbs and messes and still making sure they eat their greens and drink enough water, trust me, all these are enough to cause an apocalypse. Hahaha! But hey, at the end of it all it's all good. It's sacrifice. It's love. And while I deal with all the hair pulling shenanigans on a daily basis, I remind myself that I signed up for this. Come hell or high water, no regrets.

It's easy being busy taking care of everyone that oftentimes the ones that get neglected the most are the children. Quite an irony, I know. It's like we're being busy taking care of our children that we have no time for them. Mind-blowing. And it's times like these that all the more I want to focus having quality time with them, and letting them know that they have my undivided attention. That I am theirs wholly, just like they are mine... Because the days are long, but the years are short. And I want to be an active part of their story, just like they are mine.

I love our crazy little tribe.