Which Books Would You Recommend Every Mom Reads?

in Motherhood2 years ago (edited)

called_to_mothering.png

I was recently reading through my Facebook feed, when I came upon this post asking the group which book they would recommend every mom read. (I tried to embed the post, but it didn't work for me, so there is a link to it and a photo of the initial post.)

The number of comments was pretty amazing. It is in a Christian page, so many of the responses are Christian books, but not all of them. I was able to create a list of 40 books that I want to look into reading or listening to! When I checked last night, there were about 40 comments, but today, it was over 200!

It got me to thinking...what books would I recommend every mom read, and have I read it and taken it to heart? Well, as a Christian, I would recommend the Bible. I finished, earlier this year, listening to the whole thing - I started back in October and hoped to finish before the end of the year, but I didn't make that goal. I will listen to it or read it again this year. It's amazing how many things you learn every time you read it, even if you've read it multiple times.

I am not really a huge reader, even though we have a ton of books. Literally. We brought a container when we moved to Panama and it had 50 some-odd boxes of books in it. Two walls in our house are filled with books - a lending library for our expat friends!

I have birthing books I recommend to pregnant friends - The Business of Being Born, Ina May's Guide to Childbirth, Husband Coached Childbirth. I have books I recommend to friends teaching their kids to read - Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons, Bob Books, Primary Reader. I have various homeschool books I recommend (or collect) - What your ___ Grader Needs to Know. I have other types of books I recommend based on what my friend might be looking for.

But when I started thinking about which books I would recommend every mom read, I couldn't put my finger on one specific book. Now I am on a mission to find a book I would recommend! I have some of the books listed in the discussion and I have wanted to read them in the past, but I haven't for some reason. Maybe this will motivate me to get started!

On my reading list (if I can find them in the Libby app) - Risen Motherhood (recommended multiple times and sounds interesting), Brighter: When God's Word Illuminates a Mother's Heart, Treasuring Christ When Your Hands Are Full.

What do you think?
Which books would you recommend every mom reads?