Helping my son to practice writing - Making ready for the forthcoming academic year

in Motherhoodlast month

It's been two months since I decided to take away my son's gadget.

I purchased writing materials specifically for his use to encourage him to write more. I obtained a reusable writing utensil that can be used repeatedly due to its erasable nature. The ink supply was completely depleted within twenty-four hours of acquiring the marker, rendering it a useless writing tool. In an attempt to save money by purchasing an erasable writing book, I discovered that the marker required a substantial amount of ink, thus defeating the purpose of cost-effectiveness.

To save money and reduce waste, I printed activity sheets on leftover bond paper from my workplace instead of continuously purchasing markers and activity books.

For his coloring enjoyment, I printed out a few coloring sheets.

Additionally, I made printouts of tracing numbers and letters.

To facilitate his understanding of how to write his name, I went so far as to print out a tracing of it.

To provide a comfortable writing environment, I bought him a table and a chair, giving him his dedicated area for writing and other activities.

I am satisfied with the table I purchased due to its convenient compartment, which allows my child to neatly store his writing materials.

Through daily tracing letter activities, I have observed a marked improvement in his writing skills. Previously, he struggled to hold a pencil correctly, but now his grip has improved significantly.

He now traces letters much more quickly than before. I observed that was very committed to doing it correctly.

Initially, I faced challenges in fostering his enjoyment of writing or coloring. To encourage active participation, I implemented a reward system, acknowledging his efforts after completing writing tasks or engaging in activities.

In preparation for the upcoming school year, I want to ensure that my son is well- prepared particularly in writing. Although he has a solid foundation in recognizing the alphabet, numbers, animals, and shapes, I believe he would benefit from additional practice in writing.

By the way, I recently purchased a piggy bank for my son. I aim to instill in him the habit of saving, which I believe is a crucial life skill.

Wee, that brings us to the end of my motherhood blog for today. I sincerely hope that reading my article has been a valuable experience for you. Your time and engagement are appreciated, and I extend my heartfelt gratitude.


All photos used in this article are copyrighted by me ©, unless otherwise stated. Please do not copy them without my permission. Published: 04/17/2024 2:44 pm (GMT)

Sort:  

Nice to see your son sitting patiently and doing his part calmly. Good that you are making use of handwriting books. This will improve his handwriting. Appreciate your initiative in developing one of the best skill ie., saving money in a piggy bank. Good read.

thank you for dropping by

The ideal teacher that a kid needs with the proper resources. It is neccesary to applicate this methods to help children in their sholare ´progress.

That's true

Another way to recycle and save money would be having transparent plastic sheets which can go over the paper and then washable non-permanent markers could be used on the sheets. Tho, I was homeschooled and I still have some of my homework that I did as a kid. I'm happy not everything was thrown away. Well, another solution is to take photos of some of it and then you could throw it away

well, it will consume more markers. anyways, like I said in the article I've been using the scratch bond papers from my workplace.way better than buying activity books

that is an excellent idea