A New Bunk Bed for the Boys!

in Motherhood4 months ago

My mobile ecency has been very down for some days so I haven't been blogging. So glad to see it up and running like normal again! Phew!

I was busy with one of the biggest projects for my baby transition. We always thinks maybe the transition involves only the parents welcoming a new baby but actually it takes much more than that. It involves the elder siblings too, as well!

My master room can only fit 4 people sleeping and since we are growing into 5, we need to transit the boys out to their own room!

We do have another room but the room had only an old queen-sized bed which is not enough for the 2 boys who are growing fast and an accompanying adult, whether it is me or the father.

Hence....

We decided to dispose the old queen bed and equip the room with a bunk bed. This project was supposed to take place maybe 1 month before the baby's arrival but I decided to bring it forward to have more time for transition.

We brought it forward to last December. I took months before December to browse for a bunk bed for them, including visiting some furniture shop and browsed a lot online. I made soooooo many enquiries to the sellers that I think I may have made them so tired answering my so many questions and doubts.

My most anxious time had to be measuring the room to see if I can fit in the bunk bed because we were opting for a queen bed at the lower bunk and also a pull out bed at the most bottom to replace the drawers. That way, if we have guests staying over, we can still accommodate one more person in the room. This measuring process got me quite frantic as I was hoping I did not make any mistake at it. I repeated it maybe 5 times and even drew a floor plan to show my seller to double and triple confirm on it.

After much considerations and communications, finally I placed the order. The whole bunk bed costs us around RM2000 and I added an additional single mattress of 4 inches for my eldest son on the top bunk so altogether it was RM2199 with the delivery charges by the seller's own fleet.

It was a pre-ordered item as we could customize how we want it to be like the colours and character design. I opted for full white with no design. I enquired from a few sellers online and in physical shop amd realized they all have to order probably from the same factory in Johor. The estimated time to be ready was said to be 14 days.

While waiting, I started decluttering the mess under the current queen bed. Many things like toys have fallen underneath and I wanted to clear those before I became too heavily pregnant. I also hired a part time cleaner to help me with that as I started to have difficulty bending low to sweep things out and I have an extremely sensitive nose to dust.

At the point of 10 days after my order, the seller contacted me to tell me it is ready!!!

On the day of assembling the bunk bed, the workers who came help me disposed of the old bed and I quickly cleaned the floor after that.

Then they efficiently moved in all the different parts of the bunk bed.

The installation began!

These workers were really professional and they assembled the whole bed rather quickly in under 2 hours. They screwed the parts together and pieced them together like it was a giant piece of lego.

Look at the bunk bed after it is done!

I was sooooo glad it fits the room perfectly! That was my biggest relief!

Even with the pull out bed being pulled out, there was enough space for it!

Phew!

The boys' reactions!

The boys were away when I was at home overseeing the assembling work. So I could not wait for their reactions when they see the bed. My eldest has been asking for the exact same bed as his eldest cousin so that was why even after we proposed other ideas to him, he still wants this bunk bed.

They were sooooo thrilled and non-stop climbing up and down the bed. The small one even started to decorate his own corner.

Their first sleep was so exciting that night. I have slowly equipped the room with some night lights as well.

Daddy was the first person to accompany them sleep that night.

On Christmas day, they were gifted some space themed bedsheets because that was what they wanted.


It was a huge headache project but it was all worth it in the end. The husband said even his childhood dream of having a bunk bed has come true! I like it too a lot when I have to be the one accompanying them sleep in this transition of having their own room when the husband is not around. This was indeed the biggest gift we have given them so far! So glad the boys can have their own room before the arrival of their another sibling! Also thankful to a family friend who chipped in a little and of course the husband who is paying for the bed to make this happen.

Sort:  

I haven't kept up with my reading on Hive for a long time,so I didn't even know you were expecting a baby. Congratulations! And I love the bunk bed you chose. You did a great job with the measuring, and I am sure the sales people didn't mind all your questions. It's better to have all the details worked out in advance than to have headaches afterwards. The stairsteps to reach the top bunk are so much better than a ladder. I'm sure you and the boys will be happy with that bed for a long time.

Wow what a thrill. I want to have a bed like that too hehehehe

I hope the transition goes as smoothly as possible for everyone and that the baby's arrival goes very smoothly.

Blessings.

Oh wow! You literally can camp in with this bunk beds! Good thing is that your room has no ceiling fans. One of the reason I didn't think about such beds is because the fact that I have a ceiling fan in my room and I hardly use aircond unless the weather is super hot.
(Saves electricity fee too)

!PIZZA

Hahaha yes. We use table fans. Ceiling fans are too difficult for us to climb and clean them. Then it becomes a good opportunity for us to get bunk bed instead.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@littlenewthings(2/5) tipped @happycrazycon

Lovely bed loved it! And congrats on your pregnancy 🙂

Wow how beautiful is this new bed, the little ones look happy and now they will have much more space, I love the design! Best Regards 😊

Wow this is awesome! I love how big and fun it looks. And the fact that it takes advantage of the space and adapts perfectly