INCLUSION

Of late I have been confronted with a single word popping up in shopping centres, roadside billboards and on television. It's like some unknown force is placing that word in my vision on a daily basis.

Now, I'm not superstitious by any means so I'm not really sure what's going on here but perhaps the powers that be are prepping my mind, your mind, or the minds of children to start including everyone. Inclusion is the Key to Life apparently!

20230122_132006.jpg


Perhaps that's why we can buy toy wheelchairs and get to play hospital scenes.

Or in my case scenario I got to play "Ouch! I broke my leg."

20230122_125810.jpg

It's when the "cancer" scenario started popping up that I left the pretend play and made my excuse that it was time for a cuppa. Upon which my little playmate Hannah replied... but no sugar because that will give you cancer!

20230122_125818.jpg

According to my superb Google search this is what "inclusion" means... (in case you're not familiar with this word, although highly unlikely)

Screenshot_20230122_130917_Chrome.jpg

This little play just made me think how much children are influenced by what they see, hear, and read.

Every aspect of our lives revolves around advertising, marketing ploys, brainwashing campaigns. Some good... others not so good. Obviously the NO sugar campaign had an impact on my little friend who is now telling all and sundry to quit sugar because she believes it can lead to cancer, and in essence she would be correct... anything in excess is bad for us and can lead to sickness or death.

I don't want to sound to morbid but it certainly made me think and check twice before I chuck that second teaspoon of sugar in my coffee. Do I really need 2 or is it drinkable with just 1 teaspoon.... NOPE, coffee with 1 teaspoon of sugar is horrid so now I've quit coffee ☕️ 🙃 thanks to my little playmate.

Just for educational purposes I took a photo of this pamphlet regarding sugar...

20230122_111747.jpg

Are you reading these statistics? Enlarge the picture and weep because it is seriously affecting our population.

  • 47% of children aged 2-16 drink sugary drinks EVERY DAY.
  • Australia is in the TOP 10 countries for per capita consumption of sugary drink.

Below is something I spotted a long time ago and thought I would take a photo because the actual visual example of real sugar in a plastic bag attached next to the consumable drink or snack was a brilliant idea because not everyone is literate and they could relate to this NO SUGAR campaign most likely a lot better.

20220924_122104.jpg

But what has this to do with our motherhood community?

Nothing ???? REALLY...

Apart from the fact that little toddlers who are to young to attend Kindergarten [and yes also homeschooled kids] have access to the fridge, freezer, pantry, sodastream, sugar jar and I don't know what else 24/7 or at least during their waking hours.

20230122_143916.jpg

So YES... this has everything to do with our parenting, motherhood, fatherhood, or homeschooling community because we want to raise healthy and happy kids. We post and read these community forums to glean information, to share personal information and to hopefully gain some wisdom on how to improve or change the way we do things. Obesity, diabetes, tooth decay, ADHD, and a myriad of other health problems competing in those little precious bodies is something that you definitely want to avoid.

Don't get me wrong... I don't want to preach, I simply have this sugar issue on my mind and it's "white death" disguised as sweet, yummy, colourful snack or drink deceiving our kids brains into thinking they're not hungry for fresh fruit and vegetables because they have eaten and are full.

So, to come back on this inclusion thing... if your kids get denied sugar treats and their friends are loaded with it... do your kids feel like they are denied and are not included in this merry-go-round of I need my sugar fix!

So next time you see that wonderful word of 'inclusion' think about sugar because as a parent you provide equal opportunity to better your child, however deny equal opportunity in other areas such as junk food... sugar! They say an apple a day keeps the doctor away... but it's not just an apple a day is it? Let's present our kids with healthy choices. Top up that fruit bowl and stop buying the glossy advertised rubbish junk foods.

20230122_144339.jpg

I know it's a weird scenario I have drawn here but perhaps you can give it some thought and try to continue providing equal opportunity for your kids to a long and healthy life instead of misery in years to come. Fresh fruit and vegetables and proper meals is what you want and after awhile I truly believe that you will see a change in behavior, attitude, and general health in your kids. Motherhood is difficult enough without adding unnecessary health risks in the mix.

PS... I never want to play or act as any type of patient in a wheelchair ♿️ ever again... sorry Hannah, I'm going to buy you a trampoline because kids shouldn't be burdened with those things... not at 4 years old anyway!


Photos and written work is my own unless specified otherwise.
©️ingridontheroad


Free Resources for Kids about health:
https://www.teachingtreasures.com.au/search.php?searchById=1&prId=514

https://www.teachingtreasures.com.au/search.php?searchById=1&prId=662

https://www.teachingtreasures.com.au/search.php?searchById=1&prId=665

References:
Google search and screenshot Oxford dictionary:
"the practice or policy of providing equal access to opportunities and resources for people who might otherwise be excluded or marginalized, such as those who have physical or intellectual disabilities and members of other minority groups.
"we value and promote diversity and inclusion in every aspect of our business"

Sort:  
 last year  

kids shouldn't be burdened with those things... not at 4 years old anyway!

SO TRUE! yet the little we teach them the better for them to understand, and to be more inclusive of their peers who may have any disability.

Loved your post, would love to have my kid make me quit coffee or sugar but sadly he is more addicted to sugar than me LOL.

Agreed we should teach a little to help them understand someone's situation or health condition. Kids are so smart these days... the influence of television, internet, advertising is working on children's subconsciousness for sure!

Congratulations @ingridontheroad! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!