#Mom Life Week 26 - Becoming a mom, reflection on my first mothers day

in Motherhood3 years ago

Mothers Day.jpg

Well, this is my first Mothers Day. I'm not sure what to expect on the day but I'm sure my husband will do something. We are actually going to a friends birthday party that afternoon. Family life continues no matter what the day. Spending time together as a family though, that's what mothers day is all about.

Mothers Day 3.jpg

To be honest though for me its a day of reflection. My little one is now 6 months old and it's been a whirlwind and rollercoaster of emotions.

I don't think anyone or anything can actually prepare you for becoming a mother.

You can do antenatal classes, read books, speak to friends and loved one to get some intel on what to expect but that doesn't even come close to the real deal.

When you become a mother everything changes. You have a tiny, cute, innocent and vulnerable human that depends on you to fulfil their every need. This is the most demanding but yet satisfying job in the world.

Mothers Day 2.jpg

The most surprising thing for me I think was (and still is) you can never really get in to a routine. You just get settled in to a routine with your little one and they have a growth spurt, or teeth, or their needs just change and you're trying to find a new routine again. You actually have to be completely flexible and adaptable with babies.

"Sleep when baby sleeps" was another thing that is so unrealistic. When you run the house, have a husband with an executive job and a brother in law with Downs Syndrome living with you, there are always things that needs to be done! If you are lucky, the no sleep stage doesn't last long though. At 6 months my little boy only wakes once a night for a feed now.

You constantly question why your baby is acting a certain way and are you doing the right thing. Always double guessing yourself and comparing to other moms. I'm lucky that I have a friend with a baby the same age, we have different parenting styles but she is the most supportive and un-judgmental friend. I know that whatever is going on with my little one I can talk to her... hopefully she feels the same way too.

It is the biggest honour to be my little boys mom. He is the cutest and most well behaved baby. He is so chilled and just loves being around people. He's a real extrovert - like his daddy in every way.

So this Mothers Day, I'm thankful that I get to be a mom to my little boy and that I get to parent him and do life with my amazing husband. Despite that hardships of being a mom, the good times and rewards of being a mom trump them big time!!

I love being a mom and I wouldn't change any of it for the world!

Mothers Day 1.jpg

To all moms, new and not so new, Happy Mothers Day! You are doing an awesome job!!

Signature .png

All images from unsplash and signature from canva

Sort:  

Happy 1st Mother's Day! My oldest is 2 now, but this is my first Mother's Day as a mom of two with my new baby girl. I hope you enjoy your day!

Thanks so much. Aww how amazing. Enjoy your day too!