Fears of a Breastfeeding Mom

The wonders of female human anatomy are to bear a child and to provide food naturally in their bodies.

Let me just share a bit of my breastfeeding journey up to this day.

DISCLAIMER: I am not against formula feeding. Breastfeeding and formula feeding have their benefits. It's the mother's decision on what they prefer or what could work for their lifestyle.

As for me, when I got pregnant I was battling between breastfeeding and formula feeding. I was inspired by my sister who's been breastfeeding for 3 years now. Me? I've been breastfeeding for 19 months.

How did I decide to breastfeed?

I decided to resign from my job when I got pregnant, and I haven't been employed since.

I weighed the pros and cons financially, bf-ing wins, of course.

Sacrificing my time and body to provide food for Lil B.

Being not employed, breastfeeding and taking care of Lil B myself is the best that I can do.

When to wean?

That should be decided by the mother too. It's always advised to breastfeed the baby up to 2 years old, but again it's a case-to-case basis.

Me? I have thought of weaning Lil b but as much as I want to, I don't know if my body and my motherly mind can let go of that thought easily. It's more like I want to get a job, and have my time, but the mother in me says 'just a few years more or up until you can'. The question I ask myself is WHEN?

Running out of milk

This is every mother's worry. Whether for a bf mom or a formula-feeding mom. It's very hard to think that we won't be able to provide the first thing that babies need.

I had a couple of problems when Lil B was less than a year old. Even if I drink more water, sleep more, get enough rest, and drink supplements, STRESS is the biggest factor or reason why my milk almost ran out.

Last night

I got worried. While I was putting Lil B to sleep, she somehow transferred every few minutes from left to right boob. I got worried that she might not be getting milk. I asked her if she wants milk, and she nodded. After a few more minutes of sipping she got up and played with her toys instead while looking sleepy. I got up too and put milk in her glass and let her drink. She drank it and after finishing, she played a little more and suddenly asked for more milk. That was the time that I know that she wasn't getting milk from me.

I got worried. This morning I told my husband if we can buy M2 concentrated drink from Andok's.

IMG_20221211_134908.jpg

Right after we had lunch at Andok's, I drank M2 and then the magic happened. I can feel that I got my milk back. I have tried other lactation treats before and the magic worked.

Reason?

Honestly, I don't know. Maybe I was just feeling a little bit tired physically because we went to my husband's Christmas party the other day. It could also be that I am unconsciously anxious about a few things. Maybe I lack sleep. I don't know. All I know is I am scared that I may run out of milk too early than I expected.

I plan to breastfeed her up to 2 years old and slowly wean her, but not this soon. Please. Please. Please. I know my body gets tired from breastfeeding but it's very very worth it.

jpg_20221208_081157_0000.jpg

pictures posted are mine unless stated

in all original content. Micontingsabit

Sort:  

It's always advised to breastfeed the baby up to 2 years old, but again it's a case-to-case basis.

This is always advisable for mothers though it's not an easy job if I should be sincere .

Personally, I have a year and 7 months old baby and I am still Breastfeeding him. Lately, the breast milk isn't flowing as it used to be but I think it's due to stress and lack of good sleep.

I understand your concern about your child and I will encourage you to do your best ☺️

Weldon mummy 💖

Thank you very much! Words like these can keep the milk flowing :)

Awwwwwn 🥰
I am super glad to hear this 👌😍

I think you are doing a great job of giving lil B what she needs. As a guy I don't know much about this topic but it is interesting to hear a mother's thoughts and the journey they go through. Thanks for sharing all this! :)

No problem! I am still trying my best to give her what she needs while I can. Soon enough, she'll be only drinking milk not from me anymore which for sure I'll miss.

Congratulations @miconteangsabeat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 2
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!