Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star

in Motherhood2 years ago


IMG_7481.JPG

My little girl is one! A whole year old and it feels like it moved way too fast!!! She is a chatterbox, and a mischief-maker and we are so very glad she is ours!

I tend to use my children's birthdays as a good excuse to take time for some of my hobbies. I love to craft and bake and I know they will only be little enough to let me do this for a short time. So I tend to go a little over the top! The banner and the wreath you see above, have gotten second life in her bedroom, and to be honest, the first birthdays are always the most involved for my part. After that they get opinions and I have to change my plans to fit their preferences, lol.

I went with a twinkle, twinkle, little star theme for my daughter, and it turned out pretty well. I thought I'd show off my work, and maybe even inspire some creativity. I am by no means a pro party planner, but I really had fun with this one!

The banner was pretty simple, I cut the stars and moons out of brisell board and attached them to a peice of string with some mini clothespins. All of which I found at the dollar store.

IMG_7402.JPG

The wreath is my favourite part and looks so cute in her room now. It began life as an egg shaped wreath from the dollar store with some sparse little foam eggs decorating it. I broke it down and reshaped it into a moon and then hot glued some pink and yellow flowers and pink stars that I also found at the dollar store. The white ribbon I already had on hand.

I couldn't decide which colour star I preferred so I glued a pink and a yellow one together and made it reversible. I thought it turned out really cute!

BKVT7943.JPG

CZUS3890.JPG

I have only recently started to try my hand at cake decorating and as it turns out, it is a lot of fun! For this one I started out with sugar cookies, both large and small, in the shape of moons and stars. I made a few extra triangles to help them stand on the cake.

I always have extra cake batter so I made cupcakes and used the leftover tiny cookie stars to decorate them.

This time I made an orange flavoured confetti cake, which turned out really well! I tried my hand at drawing constellations on the sides and used some extra icing to make clouds on top, which also helped to hold up my cookie moon. I was so very pleased when it came together so well, as I had no idea if it would work or not.


IMG_7503.JPG

Outside of that, we just had sandwiches and veggies, and some sparkling cider. It seemed appropriate for a star themed birthday!

It may be a little over the top, but outside of the food (which wasn't purchased special), it all cost me less than $15.00 and I have left over supplies to use for future crafts and birthdays!

It was a lovely party and my little girl definitely enjoyed the cake, I'm not sure if she cared much about the rest!

Thanks for checking out my party prep! Hope everyone is having a great week!

Sort:  

Congratulations @near-mrs! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!