How did I manage being a full-time Engineer, a mom, and a blogger?

in Motherhood3 years ago (edited)

93BB2322-3512-4E7A-90FF-849F8B46C93A.jpeg

Hello fellow parent, @nikkabomb here. I just came back to hive after more than a year of hiatus and this is my first post in this community (motherhood community). I hesitated for weeks because I might not be able to give stories that may help and inspire others. But as I keep on reading all of your contents here, it made me want to share my life as a mother as well.

For everyone in this community, allow me to give you a little information about myself!

image.png

I am a mother of a one-year old baby girl. We're currently living in Cebu City, Philippines. I work as a Civil Engineer. I have a dayshift babysitter who's also my neighbor. And lastly, my husband works away from the city and so I look after our child every single day except on weekends, the only time my husband comes home.


Working day and night is hard. Being a mother is also hard. So why did I come back to blogging when my life is already hectic as it is? How do I manage my time?

This might be a little cliché but here's a universal truth - "All of us are given twenty-four hours a day." Time management is the key. It might be a little challenging at first but I am so grateful for still being sane despite of the busy schedule and I am also very glad for still sleeping six hours everyday. Before deciding to blog again, I thought I'd be totally sleep-deprived. But hey, I am not. Congratulations self! So let me show you a graph of my general schedule of the day.

Screenshot_1.jpg

ActivityDuration
Duty Hours8 hours
Sleep Time6 hours
Blog Time4 hours
Dinner and Playtime with baby2 hours
Morning Preparation2 hours
Dinner Preparation1 hour
Lunch Break1 hour
TOTAL HOURS24 HOURS

As an Engineer, I was expected to work more than 8 hours a day but I don't. I always clock out on time because I like to complete all my deliverables within the duty hours. Having to overtime had always been a no-no for me. And the fact that we are now focusing on Architectural works in our project, we don't really need to stay up late at night.

image.png

Every after duty, I immediately prepare dinner and set the dinner table right away. I also make sure that I allocate time for playtime with my daughter before going to bed. Since I work and live on the same site (two out of the seven buildings are already occupied), I can maximize my time and almost not waste any single hour.

Here's a photo of our building (the two buildings on the right are now almost fully occupied). This is located in Brgy. Binaliw, Cebu City. During this pandemic, my life had been revolving around this site.

image.png

I don't mind the scorching heat of the sun as I inspect the site and I also don't mind the hours I needed to work and to play with my baby. It's just so fulfilling to be able to provide the needs of my baby without sacrificing our time together. I may not be able to be always around as I need to work everyday. I just make sure I am present every single day - eat meals together, have playtime, and sleep together. I consider this as a blessing because not everyone have the same situation as I am. Some are wishing to have more bonding time because their work demands so much of their time. While others wish to work even when they have to leave their babies because of the need to provide for their families. But actually you can maximize your time while being at home, too. I know someone who’s very good at that. My friend, @junebride, is an amazing example of a full-time mom who has mastered time management. She looks after her son 24/7 while being active on all of her four blogging platforms. She earns as much as I am in my regular 8-hour job! See? Time management is the key!

image.png

After a long day at work and when my baby finally is asleep, I either edit the drafts I make during the day or start a fresh blog. In the graph I’ve shown earlier, I only allocated 2 hours of blog time. Why? It is because that 2 hours can either be the editing of the previously drafted blog or publishing the blog and interacting with other bloggers. The 8-hour duty can sometime spare me a little coffee break to check my social media accounts and even draft a blog. Every minute counts!

You may wanna know if I have ever been exhausted because of this hectic schedule. Well, it’s both a yes and a no. Yes because it truly is very busy and sometimes it feels like I sprint all day withou a pause. But it’s also a no because just being able to hear my baby’s giggles and see her eat very well, all the tiresome activities of the day seem to fade away! Also, I still sleep very soundly every night. And blogging is what makes me even happier. I love the idea of being able to share a bit of me and be part of my readers’ lives! I love reading random stories as many as I can. It feels like I am traveling to places without actually going anywhere.

B418A90A-55CF-4428-B87D-B9AED9BACBF8.jpeg

Despite of a very busy day, I always end up still waking up with a more energetic vibe willing to sprint again for the day. Knowing that all I do is for my family and for myself. When you become a parent, you should not lose yourself. You shoud still find yourself lost in the responsibilities of parenthood. That’s why I blog, drink coffee and even prepare it the tedious way, go camping on weekends, drink beer with my friend slash neighbor, @kimshinimba, and still rest like a normal adult. Being a parent should not feel like there’s less of you. It should feel like you have been more of you and you have become a better you! For all the parents out there, please know that you are doing an incredible job! And for those who wants to be a parent soon, I wish you luck and if you need a friend to talk to, just drop by in my wall and comment to any of my posts, I’ll be glad to hear from you. Of course, there are those who opt to stay single. I totally respect your opinion and I totally support you! To each their own!
285CBB38-4A20-446C-8E6F-ACB220C44B4D.jpeg

Apart from an effective time management that has always been a great help to my unending ticking-off-the-to-do-lists’-boxes, I have my husband who always make sure I am doing fine. He video chats us every single day and comes home of every weekend. Weekends are my vacation days!
430FEFCD-2832-4346-8C88-8A23110AF0AE.jpeg

I can’t imagine a life without him. A little clingy it might be but I think for a marriage to work you need to depend on each other. You need to always think that you are never alone. Life is hard! So share the hardships. It may not always lessen the load but it makes it bearable.

And that’s how I managed being a full-time engineer, a mom, and a blogger.


4969E338-57A8-4B1D-BA8E-195F08BC7693.jpeg

Nikka Mededa, the author

I am an engineer, a mother, an aspiring photographer, and also a blogger. A workaholic mom who found its comfort through brewing coffee and making home-cooked meals. I write and read a lot but I think I collect books even more. And there’s nothing more fulfilling than finally ticking off the books my reading list. Hopefully, one day!

I really love to fulfill my childhood dream of becoming an author and so here I am, in my little corner in the blockchain. I hope you had a good read and check out more here ---> @nikkabomb. Lovelots.

Sort:  

Omg! Thank you for posting this. I really needed it. I'm working from home and still can´t do as much as you, clearly, time management is the key 😅 XOXO

I am so glad you were able to like this post. I haven't been this good before. But with my persistence, I am able to be productive. hehe

Thank you for this inspiring and wholesome post @nikkabomb. When you came back to blogging, we just recently started our journey in this blockchain. Glad to be here with you 😊

hello @thegoodbi, your travel blogs are super nice! I love reading your write ups! 😊

Awww thank you so much for reading our travel posts. A comment like this really motivates us to strive better 😊

You just started in this platform and I can already see your success! Your blogs are so artisic and every one of them is written with a heart! ❤️

Di nako keri ang 6 hours of sleep. di gyud pwede naay kid ba kay I can't give up sleep huhu 😂

Kinaaaa lisuran hahahaha dmd indeed not for everyone jud ni kay lahi lahi man ta jud.

This post inspire me to manage my time properly, is a CE, a mom and a blogger could manage her time and be productive, I could definitely do the same. Thank you for sharing this and welcome back to Hive.

Thank you! Yes you can do it. If I can, I know you can, too.

🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

 3 years ago  

Time management is the key!

so, I make schedules and try but, I never follow them lol. I suck at the whole time management thing and well I end up like right now doing my blogging job at odds hours of the night while my baby sleeps, I dont have a real-life job right now but I do want to retake my career (I'm a lawyer) or at least work on my goal of continuing my studies into a specialization, so I need to work on this time management thing obviously.

It's hard to stick to the schedule so I make sure to unwind every weekend. And I just do the same thing over and over again for Mondays to Fridays. hahahaha.

I've tried doing my blogs in the wee hours. Having a real-life job and being a full-time mom is just the same. I mean, I know I still can't do my blogs while my baby's awake. hahaha. I just recently came back to the field (March this year), so prior to that, I was a full time mom and I totally understand you. To be honest, working in an 8-hour duty every day makes me even more snappy than usual. haha.

I am so glad to hear about your goals! Good luck on that. 😙

Congratulations @nikkabomb! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

Thanks for the update @hivebuzz . Lovelots 😚

That's such a good time management and you even have time to play with the baby too!

It became a routine that I didn’t mind that I was actually following a schedule. The more I get used to it, the easier it is to follow. Hehe. I even gained weight now than when I was in college haha way back in college, I’ve done all sorts of sideline (answering highschooler assignments, helping someone’s thesis, call center, and ang art related projects). I only slept 4 hrs per day that time hahaha so following this schedule is easier than what I used to. Hmm still a bit exhausting but since I have weekend breaks, it’s more than enough for me to feel recharge. 🥰

Oh yeah! I also had my moments where I was awake 24 hours and even 30 hours at times. These days though, I try to sleep at least 8 hours 😅 got burned out last year and still have the remaining this year. All I can say is, you're doing a good job and untitled.gif

Oh wait! Is that PSJ? 😍

It’s torture haha staying awake for long hours. I’ve done the same before maybe a few times but now I can’t. My body will surely won’t take it anymore. Or maybe I’m scared I’ll fall ill. Being a mother it’s like I can’t get sick at all hahahahaha

Very inspiring post. Thanks @nikkabomb

Thanks for such kind comment. 🥰

salute jd nimo dai.hehe ako spoiled ra ko dire kay tungod naa akong parents.. someone can watch over matti if naay mga lakaw..etc