Teaching Myself to Paint

in Motherhood26 days ago

Teaching Myself to Paint (1).png

My daughter and I are now starting to consistently do nature journaling. Keyword being "consistently". We have started this 2 years ago and we both struggle so much at the beginning. We still have challenges now but compared to when we started, we have gone a long way.

I have always talked that nature journaling helps enhance kids' drawing skills along with developing their awareness about the environment. Now my kid is a very observant child. That part, she gotnon the bag already. But she seemed to not love drawing or painting when we started. She always wants me to also do the drawing activity with her.

Teaching Myself to Paint (2).png

This was a challenge to me since I was not born with the gift of drawing or painting. I struggle when I see a blank paper waiting to be drawn on. I dread having to draw anything during my childhood. Then my daughter's wish to always draw with me made me think that I might as well study how to paint or even draw while we're at it.

We started with oil pastels, then we moved to color pencils, then water color. Now we are working on gouache. Which is now my and my daughter's favorite. It's a little bit like water color but it's not. It dries faster than water color but can be reactivated if you put too much gouache on the palette. For me, it's a lot more enjoyable to use than poster paint, warer color, or acrylic paint.

Teaching Myself to Paint (3).png

As I was looking at my artworks I can't help but smile! I can't believe I was able to make them. I know they're not gallery worthy yet but still, I can't believe that I habe it in me. Haha. Looking at them really makes my heart so happy.

I am teaching myself how to paint, not only because my daughter loves painting with me, but also because I am very much enjoying the process.

I followed a pagenin one of my socials and there I found a quote that John Muir Laws - an innovator of nature journaling - said:

Drawing is not a gift. It is a skill. You can learn to draw. You just have to put in the pencil miles.

Teaching Myself to Paint (4).png

This really inspired me. I know I'm not a good painter yet, but I'd like to show my child that as long as one has patience amd the will to learn it, they can achieve it. It also supports my belief about habits. As long as I makenit a habit that me and my daughter put in the time to practice drawing and painting, we will go the distance.

More importantly, she will go the distance. I'm just an old lady trying to catch up on as much learnings as I can while I still can. I am just on a mission to prove that age should not stop you from learning new things. Besides, the mental activity is good for the brain. Keeps it healthy and sharp. With all the things that are happening in our life, we should still give our old selves a chance to grow some more. Make room for new knowledge to come in.

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

learning the process of painting with the daughter is a different kind of bond ~

natawa ako sa part na "i can't believe i have it in me" hahaha ramadam ko tlga saya mo ate and I'm glad gouache has become your favorite medium because same !

proud of your works ate.. keep it up ❤️

I am just on a mission to prove that age should not stop you from learning new things. Besides, the mental activity is good for the brain. Keeps it healthy and sharp. With all the things that are happening in our life, we should still give our old selves a chance to grow some more. Make room for new knowledge to come in.

very inspiring, i needed this

Haha. Uu. Nag give up na ako sa drawing and painting matagal na eh. parang tinanggap ko na lang na di ko talaga talent. Yun pala, pwede naman palang aralin. Kaya naman pala. Yiieeeee! Hahahaha

Wow ate Rome! It's not obvious that you're a beginner po. I like how you draw some different kinds of fish. I can't even draw a thing like that.

Haha. Thank you Jam. :) Kinailangan ng napakaraming patience nyan. Tsaka paulit ulit na pagsabi sa sarili na "Trust the process, Rome." haha.

Is fantastic you publications my friend @romeskie congratulations

Wow, you have a great talent without you noticing. I like your works☺️ and it's a great way to teach your child. Nice works

que bien, son momentos únicos que se crean entre madre e hija.


how nice, these are unique moments that are created between mother and daughter.

Just wow po..
Naremind tuloy ako sa hobby ko noon na magdrawing and doing some portraits.
There's still a lot of room for us to learn diba po. Kaya go lang po as long as you're enjoying di maganda po. Nagiging bonding niyo nadin po yan.

I'm using gouache too. Super enjoy with my kids using it. :D