You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's Kindness Got To Do With Anything?

in kindness3 months ago

Don't get me started on abuse of 'woke'. I take it to mean caring about others, even if they are different to you, but it is taken to some to imply weakness. I was thinking that in the past people only really needed to care about those in their immediate area, who would probably be just like them. Now we live in more mixed communities and see all the suffering in the world. That can be overwhelming and give us conflicting feelings. We all have to share this planet, so we should care about others, but should act where it is reasonable.

Sort:  

Yes woke has been misused. So I keep saying I am proudly woke with the intended meaning of when it was created at the time of support to the African American emancipation movement in US. It makes people angry as they take some people's extreme thinking to throw flame on all 'woke' people. Sometimes we need to just cool down the extreme thinking rather than just go to the other extreme.

I agree that the scope of global horizons does make a lot of suffering be seen and impacts us. Also unluckily the next news item of horror seems to turn the attention span for any one issue to a news cycle. As Greg was saying maybe local focus is best. Unluckily in Indian cities local is also a large number

Still we must continue and try our best I guess. For an introvert like me, my help is generally through donations. Need to see if there are other ways I can help.

Bullies like to call people names. We can own those names :)