Mushroom Picking in the Balkan Mountains - a Beginners Diary

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

IMG_20201112_134452.jpg


After a few days of grey clouds and rain, today the sun came out again and it was a glorious day!

I was eager to spend time outside, and luckily there's always a lot to do here on the farm, that we are house-sitting during the winter.
So I did a little bit of gardening, preparing the beds for the winter, and spent the afternoon out in the woods to gather some more mushrooms for winter storage :-)


IMG_20201112_134530.jpg


IMG_20201112_135345.jpg


I'm very new to picking mushrooms, I don't know many of the edible specimens, in fact, I only recognize one, maybe two, so far ^^

But for now this is enough, and I'm happy that I find just some, that I know, I can eat.


IMG_20201112_150346.jpg


As I said, I'm a bloody beginner, so I only pick the ones with the spongy spores for now, because I've been told, that none of that family are poisonous ^^

According to my book, most of the ones in my basket are "Slippery Jacks", and I also found some "Penny Buns".


IMG_20201112_161955.jpg


Unfortunatly about half of them were already being eaten by little worms, or turned out to be already too mature and soft and watery.
But I was still able to cut some of them into pieces and prepare them for drying.


IMG_20201112_185436.jpg


It's getting colder here in the Balkan Mountains and we just had the first frost last night. So I think the season for picking mushrooms is slowly drawing to and end.

Anyway, I had some great hours in the woods, all on my own, enjoying the peace of nature in this beautiful part of the world :-)


IMG_20201112_142959.jpg

all pictures by me

Sort:  

love your drying system 😍

Thanks! :-)
My brother dries his mushrooms in the oven, it's faster I think. But as I have a wood-burning stove here, which is quite unpredictable ^^, so it's better to string them on and hang them below the ceiling.

Oven is faster but needs a close eye. Better to have them further from the heat source and chill 😌

hey! the ones you have found -- look like one of Suillus sp. for me, am I correct? what is the name?

you bring in some nice photos of mushrooms, thanks for sharing, and I will look for more, tho the season already came to its finish here, where I live (a bit more to the north from Balkans :)

2 or 3 known edible species? thats a shame, please subscribe to our community, check the posts and soon you definitely will educate yourself. well, at least some users post more edible shrooms and cooking recipes, than others. some (like me) prefer unedible ones - the weirder, the better :)))

oh, and Happy #FungiFriday to you!

I'm really not sure, what they are called, I think it's the Penny Bun and the Slippery Jack ^^ I didn't pick the ones on the photos, because I couldn't recognize them as edible, but they made quite good photo subjects :-)

yeah, I'm a real newbie with mushrooms. Until half a year ago I didn't even eat them, and I wasn't interested at all. So for now I'm really happy, that I recognize just some edibles.
But I'm eager to learn, so I subscribed to the community yesterday :-)

Happy #FungiFriday to you too!

Slippery Jack, yes, probably its a casual non-scientific name of the Suillus sp. In Russian we name them 'Маслёнок'. Cheers!