Sort:  

I'm definitely sounds like that entire area is full of spores and ready to start fruiting.

Maybe one of these days I'll get enough self-confidence to go mushroom picking alone until then I'll only eat mushrooms picked by an extremely experienced person that I know has survived eating them for 50 years.

😊
@ganjafarmer
I learned of a few edible mushrooms from my Grandmother. I have
many cherished memories of looking for Chicken of the woods, morels and chanterelles with her.
She also taught me of few wild edible plants.
I can truly understand why you wouldn't take chances/risk and you shouldn't.

I've actually known people who have made mistakes and ended up dead over picking the wrong mushroom.

However as an elderly individual I'm sure that it could have possibly been entirely on purpose. So much experience, however when they needed the wrong mushroom it was at hand.