A Nice Display of Turkey Tails

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

I took the photos below while I was on the Big Gunpowder Trail in Baltimore County, Maryland. I took them at the end of November and I was surprised at the nice displays of Turkey Tail mushrooms that I found while I was there.

mushroommonday3-8-2021-1ok.jpg

mushroommonday3-8-2021-2ok.jpg

The Big Gunpowder Trail is at the Big Gunpowder Falls State Park located at approximately 11203 Belair Road in Kingsville, Maryland 21087. Belair Road is also known as US-1 and Kingsville is part of Baltimore County. This is also the same trail that will lead you to the Pot Rocks area.

mushroommonday3-8-2021-3ok.jpg

mushroommonday3-8-2021-4ok.jpg

Most of the displays I found were just off the trail. These two displays that I'm showing today for #mushroommonday were closer to the water. I had to go through some briars to get to them but luckily the briars weren't dense and I think it was totally worth the couple of pricks I got by the tiny thorns.

mushroommonday3-8-2021-5ok.jpg

mushroommonday3-8-2021-6ok.jpg

Turkey Tail mushrooms aka Trametes Versicolor are in the polypore group of fungi as are other viarieties of Trametes which are many. The Turkey Tails in this display have a blue hue to them but the other mushrooms on this tree stump are a different variety of bracket Trametes or polypore.

mushroommonday3-8-2021-7ok.jpg

A couple of ways you can tell the Turkey Tail mushroom from the False Turkey Tail mushroom is by feeling the underside of the mushroom with your finger. The pores will cause the underneath to feel rough on the Turkey Tail where as the False Turkey Tail will feel smooth. The other way is by sight. If you look at the underside then the pores on the Turkey Tail should be visible and the False Turkey Tail should look smooth or have slight winkling without any visible pores.

mushroommonday3-8-2021-8ok.jpg

Turkey Tail mushrooms are considered edible but are normally done so as a tea, tincture or powder. They are mainly used medicinally as a way to possibly boost the immune system, aid the digestive system, treat upper respiratory infections and more. I have to stress to you though that before delving into using any mushrooms you definitely need to read up about them and know what you're doing. There are so many different kinds of mushrooms and many of those have look-alikes. There is a lot of information online to learn more but even that can be overwhelming. I just recently joined a local group in my attempt to learn more about mushrooms. I will say that I can only identify a handful of mushrooms with certainty. The difference between knowing for certain could mean sickness or even death so never ingest anything without knowing for sure what you are dealing with and have prepared it correctly.

mushroommonday3-8-2021-9ok.jpg

mushroommonday3-8-2021-10ok.jpg

Honestly, my favorite way to enjoy mushrooms is by finding them and photographing them. I mean, I do like eating mushrooms and have even thought about ordering a couple of those mushroom growing kits. I most likely will do that so I can show the experience (good or bad) on ordering, growing, harvesting and cooking them. My two picks would definitely be Lion's Mane and the second pick would probably be a King Oyster. I found a recipe for a Lion's Mane type imitation crab cake and I am from Maryland after all..lol. In case anyone didn't know Maryland is known for blue crabs and crab cakes. I haven't made crab cakes myself in a long time but I can remember most of the ingredients and there is even a recipe on the can of McCormick Old Bay seasoning which is what most Marylander's use to season their crabs and crab cakes with.

mushroommonday3-8-2021-11ok.jpg

Anyway, back to these Turkey Tails! My photos are only from the short tree stump and another taller stump that was also by the water.

mushroommonday3-8-2021-12ok.jpg

Both of these displays had a blue hue to them. I found some other Turkey Tail mushrooms on the opposite side of the trail with a deeper blue but I'll show those in another post. Turkey Tail mushrooms can have a variety of colors including blue, orange, brown, purple and more. They can also have a mixture of colors as well which you can see in these photos.

mushroommonday3-8-2021-13ok.jpg

I do hope you've enjoyed "feasting" on the photos I presented to you today! Just be sure to save some room for the courses that I'll be dishing up in upcoming posts. I know ... I'm just being silly now! 😉

mushroommonday3-8-2021-14ok.jpg

Happy Mushroom Monday! 😊

mushroommonday3-8-2021-15ok.jpg

All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 47 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
8

Thanks so much @pixresteemer!! 💕

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks so much @ackhoo and everyone @qurator Team!! 💖

Cool you have the blueish gray ones there too. Check back in on them after a good rain it really brings out their color. They look really blue with the brown portions almost looking like a rusty red.

Thanks @sketch.and.jam!! The smaller ones on the other side were a deeper blue and some were shades of tan/brown. I wondered if the deeper blues was because they were smaller and in the shade more. It has been an abundant year and a half for mushrooms here. I know just what you mean about the rain and love getting out if it isn't too muddy. I'm looking forward to looking for Morels soon as well. 😊

Go out the first day its around 60 degrees and raining, that's when I find most the morels.

Thanks @sketch.and.jam! I will try to remember that. If I'm lucky enough to find any then I will be sure to post about it. I did find Lion's Mane last year but couldn't get to it which was a bummer but it was awesome to know that it is around here. 🙂

Late August early September near swampy humid areas is where I find Lion's Mane. But sometimes it does grow high up in a tree or in the middle of a swamp where you need gollashes to wade out and get it, while getting stung by mosquitos lol.

Lol..that is exactly where it was and I wish! I did see a couple that found three Lion's Mane on a trail near where these Turkey Tails were about a week or two before I saw the one I couldn't get so I knew it could be found at the Gunpowder. It was still exciting to see it though. 😉

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you @pinmapple!! 🙂

A marvellous selection of turkey tail mushrooms Dee.🍄 I like the blue hue you captured on them.💕
Tip!

Thanks so much Jo!! I've seen some gorgeous displays over the last year! Have a wonderful weekend!! 💞

cool ... very good shot...

Beautiful aesthetics from nature. Great captures and captivating contents

You always seem to find these awesome colorful mushrooms these look like a bunch of butterflies gathering for a meeting 😇

Thanks @kohsamui99 and that is a lovely way to look at it!! This past year I got to see some beautiful displays of Turkey Tails. Wishing you a great weekend!! 💖

You are truly lucky to be living in such a area that you have these mushrooms almost at your doorstep 👍