Baby Morels - Third Time Is A Charm

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

A beautiful morning to all my fellow fungi lovers!

It's been a while since the last update of my morel journey. Now I want to bring up to date what happend so far. Maybe you remember that I gushed about the beautiful weather. The warmth of the spring sun and the fading memories of the past winter. In the following days it still was warm, sometimes even hot and since there was no rain, I feard that those delicate young baby-morels would dehydrate and possible siblings would never grow. So I begged for rain. And it came! I was so happy until the rain changed it's state of aggregation: thick snowflakes fell on to the ground. Covering everything with a white blanket. the tempreature dropped and I simply could not believe my eyes! And it would not stop. Those frequent and extrem weather changes are typical for this time of the year but still: I was worried about the morels.
My lovely girlfriend was brave enough to look after them despite the cold wind and the thick layer of snow. And her courage was rewarded.

IMG_6693-b.jpg

IMG_6695-b.jpg

IMG_6692-b.jpg

She found the tiny baby and two other morels. One of them was already teared down. We suspect that someone or something ran over it. Anyway - she left the baby and took the two bigger fungi with her.
The following days were chracterized by a change in melting and falling snow. Until finally no snow fell anymore. I, eager to know whats happening out there, visited my morel place and what a surprise! A few steps away from my usual location I found five big morels! Since I only had my phone with me I took a short video for you. Black Morels In The Black Forest

dee8e771-b8a6-49af-b7a1-e96945cebe97-bearbeitet.jpg

A few days ago we visited my place again and had to discover that unfortunatly the baby morel didn't survive the cold and succumbed to frostbite. It seemed like there were no morels anymore.
After - what felt like an eternity we found one morel.

_MG_6797-b.JPG

Despite knowing that the season for morel picking is almost over, I still hope that I will find some more in the following days. Especially because of the past rainy days and the warm rising sun of this morning.
I will keep you updated about my journey!

Sort:  

hey, awesome morels. do you search them from your height, or crawling on your knees?..
ps. i nominated your post for #OCD curation, thanks for you sharing a nice stuff with us, and for all the engagement along the way!

Thank you! :)

I search them from the height, but if I know a place or i find one i crouch down and search for some minutes on that place. :)

Congratulations @einfachnathi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!