Mushroom hunting this week

in Fungi Lovers2 years ago

If you had asked me in the middle of summer if there would be mushrooms in autumn, I would have said no. Fortunately, I was not right! There are tons of mushrooms growing in the forests and fields, but it's a very important a question of whether they are edible or poisonous, and how well you know them.

Much to my surprise, I saw this huge bunch of fresh oyster mushrooms in town this morning. I have no idea how it ended up at the base of a building overgrown with weeds. Of particular interest is that the ivy has completely overgrown the compost.

20221013_092053.jpg

Oyster mushrooms are edible, sold in markets and groceries. Maybe someone threw out a bag of excess compost and it grew out of it. However, it also happens that a few pieces of mushrooms mixed in with discarded green waste (e.g. potato peelings) can develop mycelium and then fruiting bodies, if conditions allow. All the rain in September had its effect!

20221013_092103.jpg

As a general rule, only pick the mushrooms you know 1000% about for food! If you have even a small doubt, show it to a mushroom inspector and you might prevent a family tragedy!
Another strict rule is that we cannot determine the species of mushrooms from a photo on internet or using a mobile app, because they may have other sensory characteristics besides sight, such as smell, touch, texture.

I have not picked the following few mushroom species, although I know they are edible. But I'm not entirely sure!
My father knew mushrooms well, he might have taken home these little mushrooms growing in clusters on the stump.

20221011_121722.jpg

20221011_114013.jpg

These beautiful white mushrooms are very similar to the champignon mushrooms on the market. Perhaps they are, because they have all the characteristics: white hat, pretty collar, pinkish-brown gills, no stipe. If there were stipe and the gills were white, it would in all likelihood be the most poisonous mushroom, death cup!

I picked one mushroom and looked at it, but I didn't put it in my basket, I left the rest alone. It has many relatives, but is easily distinguishable from them.

20221013_132201.jpg

20221013_140615.jpg

Parasol mushrooms are one of the few species that I can safely recognise.
The cap is usually more than 10 cm wide and has a pleasant mushroom smell. The collar can be moved up and down.
I've managed to pick quite a lot of it in the last week, drying most of it and putting it in boxes, so I get an excellent seasoning..

20221013_132554.jpg

Older specimens have a spreading cap, which may also be tilted upwards.

20221013_132925.jpg

The best is when the cap hasn't even opened yet, but is closed in the shape of an egg.

20221007_171218.jpg

This parasol is too old, I'm leaving it in place. This will ensure a supply for next year.

20221013_133043.jpg

This is a group of fuzz-ball mushroom, also edible, but only if the inside is still white. When it ripens, dry spores come out through a hole in the top, especially when you step on it!
It also has a giant relative that grows in pastures, often developing into a white ball weighing several kilograms. You're lucky if you find something that's still edible! One ball is enough for a big family.

20221007_142427.jpg

I don't know this mushroom, but I liked its dark color. It's really decorative!

20221013_133340.jpg

These are also so pretty!

20221002_140728.jpg

Finally, here are some more beauties that are not mushrooms.
Lichen with moss.

20221013_135600.jpg

Rock in an abandoned bauxite mine, near Gánt:

20221013_134100.jpg

A beautiful flower that evokes spring

20221013_150520.jpg

Leaves of wild apple

20221013_145344.jpg

I took the pictures in the Velence Hills (Pákozd, Sukoró) and in the Vértes Hills (Gánt).

Sort:  

Congratulations @fairyberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 27000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

nice. lucky you. conditions here are still way too dry to get any mushrooms. I usually get Parasols in November. they go on the farm. I just open the door one morning and they are there, many of them. I can not wait !

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more