Another Foray for #FungiFriday

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

It's still Friday where I am so here is a #FungiFriday post about another mushroom foray I went on with my local mycology club.

Again, we were in White Pine dominated forests. So that meant plenty of Suillus mushrooms which are mycorhyzial with the Eastern White Pine (Pinus strobus). Here is the Painted Suillus (Suillus spraguei).

painted_suillius.jpg

Starting off the walk there was a large patch of sphagnum moss with a bunch of these little blue mushrooms popping out. Not sure what they are, somebody called them "bluets" but I can't find the scientific name to attach to them.
bluets.jpg

Of course there was my favorite, the Amanita. They were plentiful. The one below is called the Poison Champagne Amanita, Amanita crenulata. It has a faint ring, rounded bulb at the base, light tan/brown cap (champagne color??), etc.
amanita2.jpg

We found some Shiny Cinnamon Polypores (Coltricia cinnamomea) growing from the soil. They are shiny and velvety on top with a rooting stipe and many pores on the undersurface.
coltricia1.jpg

It was great habitat for fungi with a lot of small ponds and downed logs. One log in particular had hundreds of mushrooms sprouting from it. These were the Xeromphalina campanella)
xeromphalina.jpg
Below I think are a type of "bonnet" or Mycena but I am not sure.
mush1.jpg

I took some time to enjoy this particular Cortinarius iodes. I didn't lick its slimy cap, though that is the only macroscopic way to differentiate it from an identical species from what I researched. Maybe next time. >.>
cortinarius2.jpg

Heading back to the table with our discoveries...

20210919_121240.jpg

20210919_123718.jpg
Above, holding the Destroying Angel.
20210919_122543.jpg

20210919_132855.jpg

20210919_132859.jpg

Happy hunting!

Sort:  

Ciao, @funferall ! Blewits - Lepista or Clytocibe Nuda would be the Wood Blewit, like the blue ones at the beginning of your post above :-) Happy mushrooming! :-D Thank you for sharing these fabulous photos: I very much miss the familiarity of mushrooms from Scotland, and am getting into studying the ones that grow near where I live here in BN, Italia :-) Blessings! :Clare

Hi @clareartista thanks you for the compliments. I bet Italy has some great mushrooms, they aren't called Porcini for nothing :p
For the little blue mushrooms I found this North American species called Cantharellula umbonata which is associated with moss growing under hardwoods. Looks like a good fit. A new one for me :) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cantharellula_umbonata

awesome post, supoported by FL community account upvote. if you like what community is about, please consider adding @hive-166169 as beneficiary of your future posts 🍄 lets grow together!

Thank you! I'll remember to add next time :)

This is up to you, buddy, but would be greatly appreciated.
PS. check the latest Fl digest, there are some guidelines about engagement. #OCD policy stands that great content should be supported, but the latest updates clarify: if the author do not engage with community and other hiveans (inside his own post and in other's blogs) then... it is worse to him
:)

I tried adding @hive-166169 as a beneficiary but I receieve the error that the account is not valid. Is it not @hive-166168 instead?

oops sorry didnt noticed this in time. yes, ofc it is @hive-166168. obviously! I made a typo :)
and, thanks! your today's post is really awesome - I am jealous, did you really find all this biodivercity this certain week? thats so cool.

No worries, I figured it was a typo. First time I used that beneficiary feature and what better community than FungiLovers :)
Yep! We had a wet summer in New England so the shrooms are bountiful.

A beautiful collection of mushrooms and photographs. That blue one looks especially fantastic.