You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #CAMPFIRE CONVERSATION: Season 8 - [Fungi Lovers Challenge]

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

_MG_6789-b.jpg
Hello there fellow fungi enthusiasts!
Everytime I decide to stroll across the Black Forest I pass this old still staying trunk of a tree. I suspect that it got struck by lightning 'cause the upper part doesn't excist anymore. But next to dusty spider webs there are some impressive big fungi. Since I'm still learning I would say that those are fomes fomentarius.
What a mysterious sight!
Yours: >^.^<

Sort:  

If I understand correctly, this is an old spruce.
Your mushrooms are similar in appearance to the bordered tinder fungus (fomitopsis pinicola). But in appearance in the photo it is difficult to draw a final conclusion. You may be right.
Nice find. If you find young mushrooms, chop and dry. You can make both alcohol and water tincture (not higher than +50 C). Good for immunity, against viruses and bacteria and many more useful properties .. Just do not pick mushrooms in the city and nearby :)

Yes, you are correct it is indeed an old spruce. I will take another closer look at the mushrooms on my next stroll to be certain. Since the colours don't quite match to be an fomitopsis pinicola but maybe they are really old ones.
I know that the picture is not sharp enough to determine the mushroom with certainty. I decreased the quality so it won't take too long to load. (The original picture was taken in .raw, but I think pictures that big will crash this whole post ;) )

Thank you for your insight! If my path crosses younger fungi I will try your recommendation!

Yours: >^.^<

You are welcome :)