Hairy mole

in Fungi Lovers2 years ago

One day I noticed pack of "hair" on a wooden bench in the garden. At first I thought it was some sort of nest of a bug or spider maybe. The bench is made out of half of old walnut trunk and it was fully impregnated with fungicide and painted. Looks like it needs another dose.

The mushroom identificator app tells me it is a mature specimen of Stremonitis axifera. When I touched it, it released a lot of spores. It was easy to remove from the surface, but it is most likely still eating the bench from the inside :o(

My vacation just ended, so it is a good time to finally select and archive photos from phone. Some are quite dated, like those from June, but most are from last two weeks. I think I'll publish them in coming days, but first I want to try to identify some mushrooms, especially those that I've seen for the first time.