Fungi Friday: Amanita Phalloides? Amanita Bisporigera?

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago (edited)

20210716_121358.jpg

This was in the back yard this morning. Amanita phalloides is what it looks like, but I'm no expert - I consult my brother, who knows a thing or two. I love the pictures of these things you guys have been posting, and I'm happy to have something to contribute. There is certainly no shortage of beautiful fungal activity surrounding me, but I'm not a guy with a phone on his hip at all times. Sometimes, though, it feels like mushrooms are posing for me, and this was such a case - worth retrieving my device and returning to the scene.

20210716_121342.jpg

Sort:  

TGIF Thank God it's fungi

One of the key ways to identify Phalloides is to see if there is a fairly large bulb at the base of the stem. I'm not seeing one in the picture also Phalloides gets a slight tinge of yellow on the cap once it gets large like this.

I went back for another look after your input - I think the bright Florida sun my be responsible for the whiteness. There were hints of tan on the cap earlier.
20210716_142947.jpeg

Aha the bulb looks consistent with phalloides. But there are a few amanitas that look really similar. Here's typically what phalloides look like. https://tse4.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.ZJpNxmw_0u33z_mEbSsjkwAAAA

Either way this guy would be a no go for eating lol. It's some kind of Amanita given that it's all white even at this older age I would say its something closer to Amanita bisporigera which is just as deadly as phalloides and basically the same common name "destroying angel".

I certainly was not going to bite it 😉. It was growing a few meters from where I've been scattering spores from different fruit bodies. So far all I've been seeing is what has been common to the yard.

Yeah I typically avoid anything that looks even remotely similar to a white amanita or amanita in general.

I think bisporigera is a good candidate.

in my opinion it is smth different.

sketch.and.jam pointed at bisporigera as a good candidate.