Young Puffballs

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

It’s the mushroom season! I stumbled upon these spiky looking white balls today. They’re quite common in the forest where I usually take a walk.

708DE0AE-AF1E-48D2-99A9-85E06BEFFB1B.jpeg

If you’re not too familiar with these mushrooms, you might recognise Common Puffballs once they get older. Their colour changes to a dull grey and a hole at the top opens up. Raindrops, wind or movement from a passing animal cause the mushroom to puff out its spores in a fine cloud of brown powder.

8664B483-692B-4B5B-9CF0-BFD6B8F95EFA.jpeg

This one is already a bit bigger but still not in time to release the spores.

6128BAEE-6D21-42E3-A434-BC0AA0C2D089.jpeg

I was surprised to find out that this type of fungi is edible too, you just have to remove the skin because it’s a bit tough.

260D7D3A-3CF9-4AD7-87B1-8697B0DA6543.jpeg

I didn’t pick them because they were really cute and I thought it would be a shame to not let them live their natural life and produce more of these fluffy balls.

Happy autumn, everyone!

Sort:  

I didn’t pick them because they were really cute and I thought it would be a shame to not let them live their natural life and produce more of these fluffy balls.

this is SO COOL of you! it is the season on its peak indeed, warmly welcome to community, looking forward to your stuff. share your great tropheys and bizarre alien-looking fungi with us.

Hey thanks for the welcome, I’m glad I found this community, I’m sure I’ll have more stuff to share :)

the post is supported by the FL community account.