A new mushroom growing community on HIVE

in Fungi Lovers4 years ago

Good Morning everyone
I been watching this community the past weeks and then decided to share my Love for shrooms with you. So what I am good at is not finding/hunting shrooms and IDing. I am a mushroom grower forover 25years. So I thought since I do have a lot of grows and for that footage I open a new community especially for "mushroom growing"…
https://peakd.com/c/hive-152514/about

So followed the instructions and all.

But now except for one person after a week no one seems to find the community. No visitors, no subscribers- nothing.
Am I doing something wrong?
Do I need to include hashtags or so?

Any advice?

I would go on posting threads/grows but if there is no interest, it doesn't make sense. Also I need to always convert Hice to HP to be able to upload content. (more than the small daily free content)

To share some pics here to not make this a boring post, here you go.

IMG_20190712_114627_035.jpg

DSC_0762.JPG

DSC_0750.JPG

DSC_0761.JPG

DSC_0759.JPG

DSC_0006.JPGDSC_0676.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Hive and YES, you will find mushroom growers here on Hive. Just takes a little time and some different tagging. You have up to 10 tags, so you can use tags like #permaculture i#sustainable #ecotrain #homesteading

I'll see what I can do in the coming days to give you a little bit of a hand.

It might also be a good idea to SEARCH for posts using the #mushroom #fungi tags and then to COMMENT on their post (after a nice weeny upvote) and invite them to join you.

Don't give up and yes, asking for help in Natural medicine was a good idea - we have LOADS of mushroom people here!

Don't forget to FOLLOW the other people posting about mushrooms - there are many. 2 in our Natural medicine community in the last 2 days alone - just scroll through Hive 120078 and you'll see them.

@nateonsteemit - I think you'd be the perfect person to help out and mentor a wee bit here, no?? 😍

 4 years ago  

Biggest problem is that I guess I am a total noob with all this stuff :)
Well, I will use the tags mentioned and try to figure how I can cross post here and in the growing channel. Will try to get my content from there over, too then. Initially I thought I didn't want to "spam" with my growing pix here, since here it seems its all about natural findings.
Thanks a lot for being so ambitious in helping <3

Biggest problem is that I guess I am a total noob with all this stuff :)

they did not build Rome in 3 days @P

Just post your mushroom growing info here for now. You need to build up your hive power and reputation on the platform to get noticed.

 4 years ago  

Ah, ok, well, thanks and sure if you don't mind. I just have a lot of footage :) But can cross post as far as I understand it- so it will be on the growing channel, too.
I am all to new to these things sorry. Shroomery worked for me all the years and I have always been a content provider only and rarely go into chatting back and forth.

We love looking at shrooms here, I've grown a few kits myself mostly oyster and lions mane.

We support funghi and wild edible foraging posts!! It's hard to have a niche community, so to get attention you need to network and offer something to tempt people. Build that rep. Come network with us @naturalmedicine.. Discord link at bottom of our posts.

@riverflows xx

I been watching this community the past weeks

... and didnt share with us any of your nice pics
and no info on your group -- maybe this was the key fault?

but taking it seriously, there are no crowds of folks who are in search of this information. and the ones who do need it, are getting it in three clicks from youtube or google. let me stay skeptical about the hundreds of dedicated groups and communities that are being created and just hanging around, silently, as dead as last years leaves..

So I thought since I do have a lot of grows and for that footage I open a new community especially for "mushroom growing"…

good for you, that you have a lot of footage. you may create a lot of intresting stories about it, and publish it in different groups where it would be noticeable - OCD / Gems / Fungi Lovers (i.e. here) / Amazing Nature / Powerhouse creatives / etc etc etc. I slightly suspect creating a new community from the scratch and posting there good stuff will not bring hundreds of visitors automatically. unfortunately it dont work so.

Also. Are you Esteem Surfer user? you can use their tokens (ESTM) to promote your posts for other esteem users on the blockchain -- that will make your posts more visible (but in a 'spam' mode - Esteem will display them to all users, not necessarily to your possible target Market users... as I said in the very beginning, the target users of your dedicated subject maybe a very LITTLE group, consisting just of a dozen folks... or even less).

wish you well, tho. and dont forget to share your photos with us here, please.

 4 years ago  

Thanks so much for your kind words. #
Can't say that I understood much about the techs behind it though- lol ;)
And no, I just wanted to support HIVE thats why I came in. Mushroom Growing, expecially Psilocybes, is my thing and so I thought why not share.
I am mostly running for time though and it might take a while, but really I am not about "earning anything", so guess I post here, so you guys have fun with it :)

I have to admit that I am not that much of a killer photographer though using my mobile only. But yeah, some shots are def. lovely.

Thanks again and I'll be back then.

from my point of view, pictures quality depends a lot from a good light, intresting lighting is 1/2 of result. with good light, even mobile phones (modern models) create a stunning results!

smartphone + cheap 7 euro macro lens for mobile = excellence (and a good memory about the harvest =)

really I am not about "earning anything"

well, I think you should not limit yourself.
if we work on behalf on our accounts, we add value to the Hive chain, and if (if) "it will go to the Moon" than we will have a nice financial concequences. that is what I think :) (two of my previous takes - on WeKu and steemit blockchain - didnt made me a millionare, I have to admit)

@artemislife gave the best advice here, -- FOLLOW the other people posting about mushrooms - there are many. Natural medicine community have your potential readers and audience. this Fungi Lovers group, too.

do the cross-post thing, so your posts could be visible in different groups. this can be done easily in the context menu of any post, like at this picture:

111.jpg

Congratulations @pilzolli! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

As some others have said, it takes time to get known. Connecting with the natural medicine community will certainly help, as they will have an interest in these things. There is a channel for gardening/growing in the discord, so it could be worth making connections there.

Ohhh, I love magic mushrooms, and normal edible ones too! Welcome and hope to real more about your fungus adventures!

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Natural Medicine.

Welcome to Hive. I hope you start to get your content in front of eyes; it sounds like you have lots of knowledge to share. I’ve given you a shout out in The Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow.


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

This post has been manually curated by artemisshares.png

You can view the post Here. Thanks for creating consistently good content on Hive.

The topic of growing mushrooms attracts relevant. I will continue watching you. thanks for the idea and sharing. Great photos!

Awesome, very hyped about this and will be following your progress as well as making occasional contributions whenever I can.