Psilocybe Hoogshagenii var. Convexa AKA Psilocybe Semperviva from Mexico

in Fungi Lovers4 years ago (edited)

Dear HIVE family.
Back again with some very special and lovely Psilocybes from my grows. This time the amazingly beautiful and very potent Psilocybe Semperviva.
I have been growing this species for the past eleven years since 2009. Its a very special species since it is grown indoors, but has never been found again in nature (afaik) since it was initially found by famous french mycologist Dr. Roger Heim.
As far as I know the story behind the "re-discovery" of Psilocybe Semperviva is one to tell around the campfire.

Heim's daughter went into the herbarium of her dad around 2007/2008 and brought some (50yrs old) dried tissue of this species outside. This material landed in the hands of people in the mushroom (shroomery) community where it was then grown into a new culture. The thing is that it is VERY difficult if not impossible to revive spores that old and get them to germinate. So kind of like a miracle that it was possible. After the first fee cultures then surfaace in the shroomery I was lucky to receive a print myself (I was getting more attention due to my first grow of the rare Psilocybe Samuiensis that time).

Since then I have been growing Semperviva and it is one of my most beloved species, amazing for its gorgeous looks and the fact that it can fruit up to 1,5yrs/15flushes. (thats from my experience) This is why it is called
Semper- always Viva- living.

Its a sub variety of the famous nippled Psilocybe Hoogshagenii var Hoogshagenii which I yet have to grow and which is kinda considered a holy grail when it comes to Psilocybe growing...
But there are also some amazing "nippled" fruits to find with Semperviva- see below for a "nipple clone" I had a few years ago...

Here is a mmix of all the flushes I had, not only first flushes but also later ones with huge fruitbodies.
Have fun!

2009.03.01 78.JPG

2009.03.02 6.JPG

2009.05.03 Kultur 3 3rd flush 1.JPG

2010.05.27 Kultur1 Flush3 8.JPG

2012.09.16 new grow, mini fruits 12.JPG

2013.05.09 2nd 1.JPG

2013.04.24 25.JPG

Semperviva 2.JPG

Supernippel 3.JPG

DSC_0019.JPG

DSC_2782.JPG

DSC_0025.JPG

DSC_0317.JPG

DSC_0318.JPG

DSC_0474_1571592551827.JPG

DSC_0312.JPG