You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nettle Soup With Buttery Honey Garlic Saffron Milk Caps, And Foraging Tales

in Fungi Lovers2 years ago

Yes ew... I think I'll leave them alone.

Fun story, I was reading on the Australian Mushroom Foragers group on Facebook that some guy found six kg of PORCINI... A miracle here!

Anyway some guy went on and said.. could you have saved some? As I was bringing a photographer out that afternoon. He was a bit grumpy and everyone told him to calm down.

Turns out he was the guy who spread the porcini spores there and had been nurturing them all season. No wonder he was upset. He did say no, no, it's okay, happy for you.. he was just understandably disappointed
.

What I really loved is that there are mycophiles out there seeding Aussie forests with edible European mushrooms. So maybe, just maybe, one day I will find porcini.

Sort:  

could you have saved some? As I was bringing a photographer out that afternoon.

oh!... I totally understand this... and, know what, as a photographer -- I am on the side of that man, who "distributed the spores" and cared of them... of course, in a case he is telling the truth. ehehe. Porcini are a great mushrooms, so the foraging rivalry for them is very understandable.
a !PIZZA for you