A Late Fungi Friday - Got Distracted

Here's a late #fungifriday by @ewkaw
20210531_142022_copy.jpg
Here is a strange fungi growing on a leaf. This fungi has distorted the leaf shape. I believe this fungi is called Puccinia urticata aka Nettle Rust Fungus, I wish I had my macro lens to zoom in and show its cup-like coral reef shape.

20210611_194742_copy.jpg
Here is the distraction that caused me to have a late #fungifriday post. I believe its a baby sparrow and it needs to be fed at least once every hour.

20210530_174108_copy.jpg
Now back to the fungi. Here is some crown tipped coral. Sadly I found this too late to harvest. Once the tips become brown then it becomes too tough and bitter to eat.

20210531_144305_copy.jpg
Here is a dead birch tree with lots of hoof fungus growing off the side.

20210531_144308_copy.jpg
I read an article a long time ago about how chaga mushrooms actually feed off hoof and shelf fungi. So who knows this might become a chaga mushroom one day.

20210530_165709_copy.jpg
Here is a strange polypore fungi. It kind of resembles a Dryad's Saddle but it is too small and the pores underneath look different.

20210530_165720_copy.jpg
Here is what the pores look like underneath. Maybe its a hexagonal polypore of some kind...

20210530_180036_copy.jpg
Here is a bit of a UFO. I suspect it might be a young Pholiota squarrosa the scaly stem and cap seem to point in that direction.

20210531_144221.jpg
Now for some six foot tall ferns. When I see ferns this large I know the area is good for fungi variety.

That's all for this #fungifriday happy hunting :-)

Sort:  

That fungi growing on a leaf is very very strange, I haven't seen it before, it would be interesting to get a macro photo of it.

So, now I know that that type of tree growth is a hoof fungus, interesting!

Yeah the latin name is Fomes fomentarius and there are many subspecies of it. This stuff can also be turned into a sawdust then reformed into a type of leather, though it is highly flammable. There's even a company that makes all sorts of fancy leather out of it and Adidas is supposed to have a shoe made out of it soon https://www.mylo-unleather.com/

that was a cool hunt. happy #fungifriday!

ps. I bet pholiota sq. always occures in large families, not solo

the 1st foto find - are you sure it is a mushroom, at all? -- looks amazing!

Yeah it was a strange single little mushroom. Maybe it is an orphan pholiota.

Late but still great! Lol..I made a rhyme! 😁 Anyway, it looks like you had a very good reason. My favorite photo is the crown tipped coral, it's very pretty even past its prime! 💖

I wish I had found some this year to harvest, but now the season is over. It's one of my top 5 to eat.

The first one looks like a sea creature.

Fingers crossed for the baby birdie :)

He ate a ton yesterday and seems to be fine this morning, the trickier part will be to figure out how to do a soft release once he gets older.