Fungi Friday - The Weirdos

in Fungi Lovers4 years ago (edited)

Here are some weird mushrooms for #fungifriday by @ewkaw
PSX_20201016_073945.jpg
Look at these strange alien shaped shrooms. Perhaps they are receiving communication from a galaxy far away...
PSX_20201016_074035.jpg
At first glance I thought they might be old dried out chanterelles.
PSX_20201016_074117.jpg
But I found too many examples of this stunted shape. This is still a mystery to me.
PSX_20201016_074152.jpg
I found a similar shaped mushroom with a deeper orange color and twice as big. Perhaps this is how the first few above should have turned out...
PSX_20201016_074326.jpg
Maybe it is a completely different species. The cap formed a deep goblet shape. Perfect for catching rain.
PSX_20201016_074550.jpg
Here is another strange beauty. Its hard to tell from the photo but this mushroom appeared to be a deep irridescent blue with rainbow highlights.
PSX_20201016_074629.jpg
Even the top was deep blue. I suspect this might be a dried out lactarius. Who knows what its original color may have been.
PSX_20201016_074445.jpg
Fungus on top of fungus on top of fungus. This looks like a huge Lactifluus piperatus being parisitised by two different kinds of mold. Its a fungus eat fungus world out there.
PSX_20201016_073601.jpg
Perhaps I should label this one nsfw...
PSX_20201016_073655.jpg
This guy had a red stalk with a plain brown cap. All I know is that it is in the Leccinum family. Leccinum are boletes that have rough stalks.
PSX_20201016_073748.jpg
Here is another Leccinum, much larger and even more rough stemmed than the one above.
PSX_20201016_073829.jpg
Who know if this was an edible Leccinum many in this family of fungi are edible.
PSX_20201016_073349.jpg
Look at all the guttation on this polypore.
PSX_20201016_073430.jpg
My guess is this is an old version of Hydnellum peckii aka bleeding tooth fungi. If only I had found it earlier it would be bright white with red droplets all over it. Maybe next year I can find one early enough...

Happy #fungifriday :-)

Sort:  

Wow...!!
Awesome fungi finds..!!!
@sketch.and.jam
The first photos do look like a type chanterelles.
I did a search and came up with something looked similar
Gomphus floccosus
😊

I think you are right. I did find it under some conifers and the vein pattern and orange colors look right.

They are all beautiful..!!
Happy Fungi Friday
🤗

Too bad it isn't edible, seems to be cloely related to stinkhorns.

Nice find of weird interesting mushrooms @stetch.and.jam.

Happy Fungi Friday!

Sadly no edibles in this post, though possibly the rough stalked boletes might be edible but I'm not 100% sure on them.

Extraordinary publication, fascinating photographs, I love educating myself through this community and with its publications.

Thanks I learn something new every time I find a mushroom.

wow!!!!!

beautiful trophey today, so many intrigue, intresting UFOs!!! this one if my top fave:

ps. did you met them all at once, during one walk, or these are results from many encounters?.. just curious. oh, and here is the !BEER for you - happy #FungiFriday!

Looks like the comment worked, Found all of these in the upper peninsula in Michigan. The weird rough bolete was on top of the porcupine mountains. Maybe it needs higher elevations to grow...

I may have found the id. Frost's bolete aka exsudoporus frostii.

Ooops scratch that, turns out its Aureoboletus russellii aka Russell's Bolete and it's edible too. Next year I'll have to go back and check for them again. https://boletes.wpamushroomclub.org/product/boletellus-russellii/

HHHHAAA!!!!

Bolete?! really!? it would be the last thing I thought it can be! hahaha! cool. thank you! probably zero chance I see them at my area. but nice to know, at least now I could help somebody to iD it!


Hey @sketch.and.jam, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I wrote a big comment, with beer.... and it all got erased. Hive isnt working well for me since this Fork :/

Yeah I'm not sure all my replies are working fully either...

Some look like a cross between morels and boletus :)

They had to put those rough stemmed boletes in their own genus. They are pretty weird and fairly rare.

I have not met such ones yet

My guess is this is Frost's bolete aka exsudoporus frostii supposedly it is edible.

mushrooms are very beautiful and very unique in my opinion.

Allways a new one to discover out there.

Those poppers are cool looking. 👍

Once I come across something besides false Parasols or common Fieldcaps, I'll be back to post! 🙂

Be sure to check the spore colors of tge false parasols just in case they might be edible. Sadly all i've been able to find here are molybites, no edible parasols...

Our new pet Mr. Nibbles has a tumor. He can't use his back legs. I guess it happens to older rats, but it's sad. I'll have to call the Critter place before long I fear. Still, we're making his last days comfortable and full of attention.

I wouldn't trust my eye eating those shrooms, or the dogs in the neighborhood. 🤣

Oh you weren't talking to me. 🤣🤣

Lol the comments are extra messed up today i replied to you from my mushroom post. So i thought mr nibbles was a mushroom with tumors lol.

Oh man. So glad I could switch topics and make things even more confusing than they already are! 🤣